We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Ranked #648 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel would have been good value for money had it not been for the brusque, inflexible attitude of the staff. Breakfast was advertised from 8 to 9, which was quite early for a Sunday morning. However we came down before nine and ordered our cooked breakfast at 8.50. At first we were told we were too late, but when we pointed out it was not yet nine and that we had already paid for breakfast, it was provided, although begrudgingly! Our friends came down 5 minutes later and were refused breakfast, despite the fact that it was still before nine, and that they had already paid for breakfast the previous night. There was no manager to speak to and they were not offered a refund. In fact we were all made to feel rather unwelcome. I felt embarrassed at the poor customer service.

The room was adequate and clean, if a little spartan. Better quality mattresses would have made a lot of difference, as the springs were uncomfortable and stuck into my back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
After working a few years in this industry you realise that even if you try very hard you can't please everyone. Sometimes is very sad when pleople seem not to understand that we need to follow a few rules like stick with the programme. All we want to say is that we have a wall clock in the breakfast area showing the exact time, so we can't refuse serving a customer if it shows that 8.50 am.

All the best,
Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    65
    13
    20
    15
See reviews for
42
37
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

bus stop right outside hotel going both ways, ten minuite walk to leytonstone tube station where u can go to anywere, its best to buy a oyster card save u alot of money to travel around ,pub nice ,restaraunt nice and hotel nice ,its not 5 star but what do u want for £49 a nite , the couple that run it will go the extra mile to give you what u want ,and are very helpfull. would stay again if i went to london again.cheers paul ashall wigan

Room Tip: busy main rd at front so if light sleeper ask for one at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are really thankful for your lovely review.

With gratitude,
Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Hotel is situated just across the road from part of Epping Forest with two lakes one a boating lake and two log cabin cafe's. You can travel by bus to Walthamstow Cenral Station where you can travel on the Undergroung Victoria Line to Central London or change onto the Piccadilly line to Heathrow Airport. The overground takes to Liverpool Street or you can change and go to Stansted Airport. London City Airport is Just a short bus ride from the hotel.
After reading some bad comments about this hotel I was in two minds wheather to stay there or not especially when gusts stated that they were locked out when returning late at night.
The single room was large enough for me and the bathroom was small but clean and tidy with regular change of towels. There was no drawers to put my clothing so I had to use my suitcase but that was no problem. I had problems getting the T.V to work but that was soon put right by the staff. Many of the old fetures has been retained like the brick walls in the room and the wodden tables and chairs in the resaurant. The breakfast was nice and substancial but the sausages were re heated. The weekend rate was very reasonable and very good vale for money. As far as getting into the hotel late at night , I had no problem as a front door key is attached to your room key that you take with you when you go out. All in all my experence was a good one and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are very glad that you decided to share with us your opinion about our hotel. We know that we still need to fix a few things in the rooms, but we are willing to do that. We can't change the place over the night but we promise to improve the image of our hotel and our services.

All the best,
Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
The Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I just returned home from my first week long trip to the UK and while I was there I stayed at the Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel and I must say I had a wonderful experience.

There was a warm reception by their hotel staff. My reservation was all in order along with a beverage from the bar.

My room was very clean and simple. Satellite TV and a view of Epping Forrest. Access to the hotel lobby is locked so it is safe and secure.

Ample free parking. There is a bus stop right out front and you can walk to the Leytonstone Tube station (District Line). The hotel manager will hail you a cab as well if you choose.

WiFi is available in the bar, lobby, restaurant and patio areas.

The English Breakfast is excellent. Fantastic wait staff and the ladies will make sure your belly is full.

On my last night I had the 600g steak dinner and it is to die for. Compliments to the chef.

All in all it is a great value, real English appeal and I felt like family during my stay. Cheers.

Room Tip: Note: Im not saying the swimming pool & fitness center are terrible, There is no pool or fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans1992NSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are really happy that you had a good experience in London. Hopefully, you will come and visit us again.

Best wishes,
Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights due to family wedding in the area. Room was a decent size however it offered no storage other than a row of 5 coat hooks and one bedside cabinet. This meant that we had to live out of our suitcases and didn't even have anywhere to hang up our towels to dry!

There was more than enough room to house a small wardrobe a and a chest of drawers against the wall if they just moved the small tv screen to a different position.

The room was facing the road which was extremely busy throughout the night with lots of sirens blazing out at all hours. Single glazed windows were not sufficient to block out the road noise and I could imagine that during the winter it would also make the room cold.

Peeling back the bedsheets revealed hairs in the bed....which makes you wonder whether the sheets had been fully laundered. Very off putting!

Shower room was a smallish size and very clean which was ok for us, but there was nowhere to put my large toiletries bag or hang up towels.

Each room is quite different, so if you unfortunate enough to be staying here and you are able to, it's worth asking to see the room first to check it's ok for you. My parents were staying here as well and their room was smaller but had an unsuitably very large low wooden framed bed in it which took up most of the room space and meant you struggled to manouvour around without injuring yourself on either the bed or the tv which was jutting out from the wall. A divan bed would have been a better option and made more sense for this room. There were steps down to a very large bathroom with no handrail. Not good for elderly people.

The breakfast was ok - cereal, yoghurt and freshly cooked english breakfast on offer. Nothing special, but the area was clean and the food fresh

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms available first to check it's ok for you....the back rooms have double glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Every single opinion matters for us and we want to let you know that we do try every day to improve our rooms. At the moment what we can offer for 49 pounds for two people is only a double room, normal size, en suite, free wifi, tv, tea/coffee, hairdryer, free parking and a freshly cooked english breakfast. We have as well a lovely bar and a restaurant at the ground floor. Of course, the rooms are different sizes, some of them are singles, others twins, doubles or families. We know that we aren't perfect but we really try our best to make our customers happy. Thank you again.

Sofia Mitrofan
The Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed many times over the last few weeks. Great access to A12 and A406. Ample parking. Great rooms. Friendly Staff and great value meals. Dare you try the 500 gram steaks! Always willing to offer you more than the normal run of the mill things, big chains do not.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realswainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We wish you all the best.

Sofia Mitrofan
The Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Well let me start with the meal in the restaurant, steak pie was ordered and when it arrived the pastry was warm and the filling stone cold , meal ruined !
Only leaving for an evenings entertainment we left the key at reception and on our return approx 2am could not gain entry back intothe hotel there was no staff at all on site to let us in so we had to spend the night in our car in the car park.
We rang 2 emergency numbers on the front door both which went to answer machine and eventually spoke to Sophia who could not care less about our situation and was totally ignorant and rude !
As far as im concerned if there was an emergency there (god forbid) with no member of staff on site it would be carnage
STAY WELL CLEAR OF THIS DISASTER !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebSka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
If we may we would like to respond to this review in order to defend ourselves. Well, the gentleman is actually a regular customer. He stayed with us before and he was very happy and maybe that's way he came back. The guest was informed about our rules, that we are not 24 hours reception and if he wants to go out he must keep to key all the time with him. The customer went to a party and he came back very late, around 2am even he knew that we are closing at 11pm. He did phone us at 2am in the morning very angry, shouting and swearing on the phone. We have also other guests confirming that he was making a lot of noise in the front of the hotel. One more thing, we don't think is fair to use inappropriate words and to shout over the phone when we try to solve the problem and then say that the staff is rude. No one deserves this kind of treatment. We are really sorry for your inconvenience but we all have to respect the rules.

All the best,
Sofia Mitrofan
The Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles London Leyton
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.3 mi away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woodford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel

Property: Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Address: 147 Whipps Cross Road | Leytonstone, London E11 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #648 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing