We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Warm Welcome”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Ranked #669 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights On arrival a very welcome Cold Beer was offered, very rare these days.Had a nice room at the top overlooking epping forest.In the distance could see my old school that I had left 42 years ago.!! This was the reason to stay here for a school reunion. The Breakfast was good along with lovely evening meals.The staff and Sofia were polite helpfull and make you very welcome. You wont go wrong staying here and excellent value. I will Return again and have told others about this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like countryside and a good sleeper front rooms good for views. If you like it quite back roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your good thoughts and we hope that when you will return in the area you will came and visit us.
Best wishes,

Sofia Mitrofan
The Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Since our wedding, we have been back on 4 occasions for meals to celebrate birthdays, we have stopped eating in the local pubs, and travel the extra 2 miles to the Hitchcock, on our last visit we once again had the massive Rib-eye steak which was just superb, always cooked to perfection, the chips were great as well, took the remaining steak home for sandwiches the next day.... looking forward to the next big family party weekend in November of this year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djo2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Really impressed with this place, last time I went there a few years back it was pretty grim, its since been taken over and they have really smartened the place up. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The manager seemed friendly, the place was spotless and the furniture tasteful.
The steaks here are incredible and knocks spots off anywhere else in the area and it is quite reasonably priced. However I do think they should take a little time to go over their menu, the quality of the food is fantastic but I think the menu is a bit outdated and they need a few more sophisticated dishes instead of everything being served with chips.
I went with my husband and 2 children and they didn't seem to mind the menu at all but I do think it could do with a bit of a re-vamp.
Definitely go for the steaks though they are excellent!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed there recently with some other members of my family,i found the staff were very helpful indeed cannot fault them
i was very disappointed with my room however it was very old in style which is ok but the bedding was very poor and would bearly keep you warm,the tv was very small,it was clean and tidy ,very nice bathroom ,the worst thing i could say was that i could feel a cold breeze coming from the window which is just above my head hence i slept at opposite end of bed,
the problem is the windows are not double glazed and are very drafty,i just point this out for future reference.
overall though i would stay again as was good value.
PS the Staek dinner in the restaurant was huge i have never eaten one as large and i have eaten quite a lot of steak in different restaurants around the world,i would travel to eat the staek alone all i can say is WOW.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 it is a really nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night as was recommended to us. We weren't sure what to expect as the price was so cheap for a hotel within a few miles of the centre of London but we has nothing to worry about.
We arrived earlier than the 1pm check in time so had to wait a few minutes for room to be ready but Sofia arranged for us to have a complimentary drink while waiting. The room was really lovely, modern and very clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly and Sofia in particular was always on hand for anything we needed. Breakfast was cooked freshly to order and was really lovely.
Will definitely stay in this hotel again when visiting London and will recommend to friends

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ntigah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spend 3 nights in London, arriving late (booked via email in advance) but were welcomed very kindly, showed us rooms to choose from and offered us a late snack in the pub.
Very reasonable pricing structure, very polite and friendly staff, helped us with forgotten devices, great and non disturbing pub in the house, bus station in front of the house, clean rooms and bathrooms, very friendly breakfast-crew in the restaurant....
we will return for sure when heading to London again!
tmw & mk

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baluontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent customer service, great accommodation, loads of character in this quirky hotel. Met family and friends for dinner in the restaurant and had a great night with them. Will defintiely be back for another stay. Bit nervous about the shower but lived to tell the tale!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We are very happy to hear that you had a lovely time at the hotel. For us, it is really important to be able to offer the best customer service. Thank you for the good thoughts and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
The Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Travelodge Snaresbrook
#566 of 1,077 in London
127 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#596 of 1,077 in London
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,077 in London
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel

Address: 147 Whipps Cross Road | Leytonstone, London E11 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing