We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute dump avoid is a must!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Continental Hotel
Ranked #987 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Will never stay again the rooms look like summit owt of train spotting not clean at all definatly avoid at all cost the staff r miserable 80 rooms just chucked together and u can feel the London Underground shake ya room dog dump,only plus side shops and resteraunts round the corner

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank Shad1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 790 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have booked cheap and cheerful elsewhere before and been very pleased, we don't ask for much but this really is pushing it to the extreme. Filthy carpets, broken bed, the bedspreads were dirty and stained and the room was awful, in all honesty my garage is more inviting. No towels well you can hire a small threadbare off white hand towel for £2.00!! Need I say more. Will not be returning...

Room Tip: Please don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 707Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Three of us stayed at the continental hotel in paddington. It is a basic budget hotel with really cheap prices, the money we saved from accommodation we spent them on shopping, after all we only wanted somewhere to sleep, we were not after luxuries. Our room was clean, tidy with comfortable beds overlooking the garden, we had also breakfast which was included in the price and it was good. Surely we recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went for Christmas shopping to London, a friend had recommended us the continental hotel as a good budget hotel with the lowest prices in central London. We called the reception and booked a family room for 3 nights. The room was very big and clean,all communal facilities were clean and our room was serviced every day - we felt very safe there as we had children, staff are very friendly. We will book again for our ext trip to London

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We call the reception at the continental hotel after we saw advert in the newspapers, their prices looked attractive so we thought of giving it a try. It is a basic hotel, the rooms are spacious with basic furniture but clean, good value for the money we paid for central London. The price also include continental breakfast. There are many restaurants and pubs around the corner of the hotel with nice food, some expensive, some less expensive it depends what you are looking for. Our stay was comfortable, we had positive experience and we will recommend it to other friends for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A friend recommended us the continental hotel in London Paddington. It is a big budget hotel ( 4 buildings) infront of a greenery. Our room was good size spacious with high ceiling, it was clean. We satyed for 4 nights there without any problem - the staff are curtious and helpful, the breakfast served is not cooked it is continental but still good and filling. Their prices for central London are really low, you won't be able to beat them. We will keep booking in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We just returned from London where we stayed at the continental hotel in paddington. It is a lovely area, many restaurants and pubs nearby the hotel and oxford street is only few minutes walk. The hotel is a budget hotel with basic accommodation ( we expected that with the prices we paid) but it is clean and we felt safe there, the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good. We will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,076 in London
139 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#975 of 1,076 in London
585 reviews
Viking Hotel
#764 of 1,076 in London
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Boston Manor Hotel
#762 of 1,076 in London
297 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#955 of 1,076 in London
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 36-42 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #987 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $57 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel London
The Continental Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing