We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a catch, not as good as you would be made to think, £50 deposit per night surprise when you get there!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Continental Hotel
Ranked #983 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 12, 2013

£50 deposit per night, attitude from the staff when you question it and that you weren't told about it when we pre-booked (& prepaid) online - we had to use our spending money to cover it! disgusting, never stay again, will stay with a proper hotel chain next time (this one is certainly an amateur amongst the other hotels we have stayed in). Rooms ok, sockets hanging off, bucket in hallway catching water off the air conditioning system, faulty flooring etc etc Restaurant ok but staff need to go back to catering college re: service etiquette, they seemed friendly enough though (the only highlight).
Lesson learnt, too good to be true, won't be booking again thanks.

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel sorry, just the truth I'm afraid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 799 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is overall ok, however there are 2 things which can ruin your stay:
1. The new hotel policy stating that you have to give in advance 50 pounds for each night - it is a deposit if you break sth in the room - for 6 nights is 300 pounds!! What the hell? You have to give them a deposit, because they won't give you a key to your room, even though you paid in advance for the whole stay!
2. The windows cannot be opened!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Monika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a lot of difficulty finding a hotel near Heathrow. This is as close as we could get that would accomodate 3 people in the same room. Common areas are adequate. Rooms a decent size, bathroom modern yet in need of retiling and regrouting. Staff made arrangements for taxi shuttle the following morning with a private hire that cost us half of what we paid from Heathrow to get to hotel via "Black city cab". Dinner in the restaurant was terrific, staff over the top polite. Breakfast provided was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked at the continental hotel by e-mail and stayed for 5 nights. The location is excellent, the staff friendly , the rooms are basic but clean and good size quite spacious - the ceilings are high, beds comfortable and the bedding were clean. The breakfast is continental and plentiful. It is safe place to stay and very economical. We do recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the continental hotel for 3 nights. The room was spacious with comfortable beds and clean linen, the room was serviced every day. The bathroom was not so large but was clean and functioned perfectly, the service was very good, the staff was ready to help when asked. the reception is open 24/7. We would book there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place cannot be qualified as a hotel. It's absolutely horrible, dirty, and stinky. The room smell so bad that the 'hotel' staff left the window open at all times because otherwise the sewage stink would have taken over the room completely. Even with the window open the room still smell a lot like sewage. The carpets everywhere are dirty and disgusting. We had a toilet and shower in our room in a sort of closet which was maybe a 1 square m. Throughout the night we could hear noises of the sewage water coming up the pipes. The bed linen were itchy. Needless to say that there was no soap of any kind in the 'bathroom', the water stank, and they charged us for towels (which were tiny by the way). Despite the prices for rooms in London are very high, this fact cannot justify the terrible conditions this 'hotel' is in. And for how dirty the hotel is the prices they offer are way too high, plus they charge 5 pounds for internet access. This place could not even be defined as a hostel, it's just shocking that in the centre of London people think it's ok to offer such dirty rooms. It's by far the worst place I've ever been too, even worse than cheap accommodations in developing countries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Octopus713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Five of us booked at the continental hotel based on recommendations from friends who stay there regularly. The receptionist was friendly, before handing us the key to the room, he explained to us about breakfast time and gave us a London map which was very useful. The room was in the basement but we didn't mind, it was big with a big window and was clean as it was the bathroom. We already booked in this hotel for our next trip in London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#868 of 1,077 in London
90 reviews
6.9 mi away
Venture Hostels
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,077 in London
143 reviews
8.3 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#775 of 1,077 in London
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#673 of 1,077 in London
886 reviews
0 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#659 of 1,077 in London
609 reviews
0 mi away
easyHotel Paddington London
easyHotel Paddington London
#664 of 1,077 in London
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 36-42 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #983 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $70 - $1,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel London
The Continental Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing