We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, clean and safe place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Continental Hotel
Ranked #991 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visit London several times a year and stayed in many places this time my wife booked us at the continental hotel after a friend recommended it as a clean, good budget hotel. The room we were allocated was good size, clean with comfortable bed and clean bedding. We stayed for 2 nights, the price also included continental breakfast which was decent. We were very pleased and so we will make it our base in London.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for The Continental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 788 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

The continental hotel is a budget hotel in central London, situated in a beautiful square. A friend who uses this hotel regularly recommend it to us, so when my friends came over for a weekend we booked there. The location is excellent and there are many nice pubs nearby. We had a triple room en-suite with breakfast included in the price. We were really pleased with the room, it was spacious, clean, beds comfortable with new pillows. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions. We do recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent 3 days in London and stayed at the continental hotel in a double room with shared bathroom. We chose this hotel for it's price and great location - it proved to be a good choice. Our room was clean, good size and was overlooking the beautiful garden at the front, the communal facilities and all common areas were clean at all times. Although the hotel was very busy at night was very quiet and so we had a good night's sleep. The hotel was very warm and the atmospeher is very friendly. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nice location near hyde park, and Marble Arch. Small rooms but quiet. Good service at the reception.
Shower small but all I needed
Paddington station very connected and oxford street just 20 minuts walking away. Over looking a beautiful garden in square.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location of continental hotel is excellent, just within walking distance from Hyde park and oxford street. We stayed in a double room with shared shower and toilet which were always clean during our stay.The room was serviced every day and was warm, tidy and clean. We felt safe there and we would book again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Lidos hotel for a week. The location is perfect and it's not hard to walk to both Oxford street and Hyde Park which taked approximately 15 minutes each. The hotel in general was ok, if you're not staying inside so much. Our room was clean enough and good enough for sleeping. The showers were in the hall which meant that all the rooms located in that particular hallway would share it, but it was fresh anyway, the only problem is that they have warm water from like 11 am to early evening...

Also that every 10 minute your entire room will shake a little bit because apparently the subway is located under Norfolk Square, it doesn't bother that much though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We searched the internet for a budget hotel in central London, the reviews of the continental hotel were mixed so we decided to give it a try and we were not dissappointed. We booked a triple room en-suite for 4 nights - we were very happy with our room, it had a double and a single bed, the beds were comfortable, the room was good size with high ceiling and had a small but clean bathroom. We went for breakfast the next morning just before 8am and were other people there, the breakfast was good, consisting of unlimited corn flakes, toast, tea/coffee, butter, marmalade, the staff are friendly. We would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#725 of 1,072 in London
137 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#977 of 1,072 in London
584 reviews
Boston Manor Hotel
#764 of 1,072 in London
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#336 of 1,072 in London
240 reviews
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Notting Hill
Bowden Court
Bowden Court
#780 of 1,072 in London
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 36-42 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #991 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $60 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel London
The Continental Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing