We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable Apartment in expensive London”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Castletown House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castletown House
Ranked #50 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Affordable Apartment in expensive London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Positives: Location very close to tube and bus lines; extremely friendly and helpful staff; quiet ground floor accommodations; nearby excellent Turkish and Indian take-outs; readily available shops. Negatives: Tired and dingy bed and linens; poor bathroom lighting; marginal cleanliness... particularly in bathroom (moldy grout) and kitchen (oven and pots). That said, London is a very pricey city for accommodations and it is difficult to find more affordable lodgings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoForTheRoad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    113
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
108
99
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We recently spent 16 nights @ castletown and were delighted with our choice of accommodation. We booked mainly as a result if the numerous positive trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
We had the one bedroom first floor flat which we found to be spacious and light filled. Having the kitchen and washing machine was fantastic and saved us a lot of money and running around. Couches were comfy and tv was great (especially if, like me, you love Uk tv). Bathroom was tiny but perfectly adequate and the shower was the best I have ever experienced in the Uk (and we have travelled throughout a lot and also used to live there). The shower was awesome in fact with excellent water pressure which is a rarity! The bedroom was ok, lots of furniture so a little bit cramped but otherwise fine with a lot of lovely natural light. The bed needs to be replaced though as extremely lumpy and all the springs could be felt (not that this stopped us sleeping but was a bit uncomfortable especially initially).
Great location and very friendly managers and resident cat! Tube stops very close by as are supermarkets and pubs etc. My only disappointment is that I discovered that the shopping Mecca of high street Kensington was within reasonable walking distance (and accessible by bus) on the last day - I'd been catching two tubes to get there previously!
We will definately stay here again when we come return to London.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed in a basement studio for 4 nights. We were welcomed by a staff member who was on her way out/home but she still kindly showed us to our room and explained how things worked. The owners son shortly came down with the eftpos machine and was also very nice and friendly. The studio was bright and very clean and very quiet. I expect the one next door that was by the entrance door would have been noisy though as the door had to be banged loudly to get it to shut. The computer with internet access was a definite excellent bonus. Being able to do our washing and drying was great too. The location was excellent, just a few mins easy flat walk to the tube station, and with plenty of good restaurants nearby. We found the Thai & Indian both very nice. Two choices of supermarkets were also very close by. It wasnt the BEST, cleanest neighbourhood, not posh, but really fine. We would definately stay here again. It was excellent value for money in expensive London.

Room Tip: Dont pick the studio thats by the entrance door, it would be noisy i think. If you like to be left t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Got home this week from our London trip. We rented the family studio which was on the ground floor at Castletown House. Mark was very friendly and helpful. We were able to drop our luggage off since our check in time wasn't until around 3pm. Mark gave us the keys and placed our bags in our room once it was clean. The location is great. We alternated between using the West Kensington tube station which is approximately 2 blocks away and the Barons Court station which was approximately 6 or 7 blocks away depending on which tube line we wanted to use. Castletown House is located in a safe neighborhood. We didn't have any concerns as two females walking back late at night from the tube stations. There is a good coffee shop around the corner and plenty of places to get food on North End Rd. We also quite liked the Curtain's Up Pub on Comeragh Rd which was on the walk home from Baron's Court. The room was just the right amount of space for two girls on holiday. Everything was very clean and having two sinks in the bathroom was very convenient. The flat had a washing machine and kitchenette, neither of which we really needed. Mark had provided a bottle of water in the fridge which was much appreciated. The only negatives which aren't dealbreakers by any means are: the mattress was not the most comfortable but I still managed to sleep fine, the laminate floor is pretty creaky which could be a problem if one person is sleeping and the other is walking around the room and there was occasionally some noise heard from the flat above ours (but I only heard this on our last day and not during time that would affect our sleep). These are all minor things as far as I am concerned and did not detract from my favorable opinion of the flat. I would definitely stay here again on a future trip and would recommend it to others looking for an affordable, clean, conveniently located flat to rent. (I also enjoyed the occasional visit from Mark's cat, Charlie, who could be found snoozing on top of the fishtank in the hallway!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NurseCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Booked the 2 br garden apartment. Given the 2 BR ground floor one in Pelham Road. Bathroom needs a good clean and some sort of ventilation. Oven and oven roast pan filthy. Could not use. Cracked and/or missing crockery. Washing machine did not work (and this was a selling point). Booked this mainly from other reviews which were positive and offered value for money plus location to tube stations but this particular apartment was sadly lacking in the facilities we see other reviewers received from other apartments.

Room Tip: Check out the apartments thoroughly before unpacking bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tezbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardPop, Manager at Castletown House, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
We appreciate feedback from our guests and we would like to thank them for their recent review of Castletown House, and we are of course also disappointed to hear that our apartment did not match up to their expectations. I do recall the guests well, and would like to apologise to them personally and immediately for not matching their expectations. I would however, also like to make the observation from our point of view, which we feel will help new readers fairly review the situation.
We did indeed have to relocate the guests from the garden apartment to the ground floor apartment, but this was due to the guest moving their dates back, and so we did not have the garden apartment for all their dates, and this was explained to them in an e mail, to which they accepted. We never move a guaranteed apartment unless absolutely necessary, in this instance it was explained prior to arrival, so we feel the opening statement to be somewhat miss leading.
We were sincerely sorry that the washing machine had broken during their stay, it has now been repaired, and on occasion they can break down, it is in this moment we try our utmost to assist the guests. I personally laundered much of the guest’s laundry, and on their last evening spent the evening in the laundrette drying the guest’s clothes before they went out for the evening, I was trying my very best to put right what had gone wrong, and was in fact a little late for my own evening plans, this is of course not a problem, but worth noting as I did genuinely try to help our guests as much as possible.
The oven and roast pan were shown to me, and it is fair to say these were not adequately cleaned, I offered immediately to clean the roast pan and the oven, but was informed it was not needed immediately as they would not require it, so I made sure it was cleaned after their departure. If the bathroom was not up to expectations, then if informed I would of course arranged for it to be deep cleaned either the same or next day.
Our underlining ethos at Castletown House is that we are here to assist you in anyway practically possible, and if the apartment is not up to standard, then we shall put right immediately, or as soon as physically possible, we can and do act on customer feedback, without you, we wouldn’t be here today.

Mark Poppleton, Castletown House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oella, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days and we really enjoyed it. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was great ... a one bedroom with a full kitchen and washing machine. It was quiet and comfortable. I searched around quite a bit for a place to stay in London and this was a good value from what I found. The location was pretty much perfect. The tube station is close (probably 2-3 min walk) and you can be downtown in 10-15mins. There are several grocery stores right around the corner so you can easily put the full kitchen to good use. And if you don't want to cook then there are plenty restaurants and pubs in the immediate vicinity too. After a long day of sightseeing it was very convenient to just jump on the tube anywhere in London and easily get home. I recommend staying here and will do so again if I ever get back to London.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Castletown House was great value, within easy access to shops for necessities and it wasn't far on the Tube to anywhere we needed to go. We stayed here at the end of a 5.5 week trip and had a lot to take back with us. It was great to be able to have a 5 minute walk to a direct line to Heathrow having had a much harder trip last time we were in London.

We booked a studio which didn't have a washing machine as indicated on the website. This caused some issues but we were able to sort it out eventually using a washing machine in another vacant apartment. Apparently they usually let people know on booking (and they may have updated the website by now) but if they had mentioned it I would have upgraded. It's only a minor issue though and we would happily stay there again when we're next in London.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Lamington - Hammersmith Serviced Apartments
The W14 Kensington
#16 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Linton Apartments
#35 of 837 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castletown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castletown House

Property: Castletown House
Address: 11 Castletown Road | West Kensington, London W14 9HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castletown House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castletown House and Perham apartments; a collection of three to four star self catering refurbished Victorian apartments in West Kensington. We offer studios, one bedroom, two bedroom and three bedroom properties ideal for all types of traveller. All units have there own Kitchen and Bathroom, TV, DVD player and other amenities. Free Wi Fi as standard. A family run business, offering a home away from home feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castletown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castletown House Hotel London
Castletown House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing