We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Ciao - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bar Ciao
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We chose to come here at first purely because of the price. We where pleasantly surprised at how good the food was for the money. We had a carbonara each which tasted wonderful and shared an ice cream. The staff where very pleasant and attentive. If your doing London on a budget and want to avoid the masses of chain restaurants I'd recommend you visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Literally Pizza Hut Pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My daughter and I separated from our group for a quick bite while finishing some last minute shopping. We were seated and proceeded to order a beer and a glass of water. We ordered within 4 minutes. While we waited for our pizza margerita and Pasta, we were not addressed at all! Not for a refill, a piece of bread or anything. A table next to us was seated, ordered, ate, paid their bill and left. Another table was seated, ordered, ate, paid their bill and left. Four customers came ordered icecream and milk shakes, enjoyed, paid their bill and left. Each time we advised our waiter that we were in a hurry to meet the rest of our group, we were advised that our meal would be out soon. The chicken and pasta arrived from the downstairs kitchen and the pizza did not. Finally, after another five minutes, the pizza arrived from behind the counter, not from the kitchen downstairs! It was NOT a pizza margarita as we have so enjoyed on all of our trips to Italy and to many brick oven pizzerias. It was a pizza that if I am not mistaken, came from the Pizza Hut from around the corner!!! Again our drinks were not filled and we ate with haste and had to run. Terrible service! Disappointed to say the least.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2traveltoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent Knoll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

excellent customer service, good italian food and tummy busting desserts, will definately be returning...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A piece of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This review is long overdue. The ice cream creations at Ciao are delicious and recreate perfectly something you experience in an Italian Gelateria. Cakes are a great staple too. Better going with a few people and order different items, there's too much to try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tilena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best places for Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great spot to have ice cream. Somewhere different and a little more interesting, able to order ice cream deserts in the shape of pasta, for example.

The ice cream is made in house which makes this place a hot spot.

Great location and great menu. This is the place for somewhere to stop off in London if youre out all day, even better in the summer.

RO

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Remus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Ciao also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing