We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good selection of quick meals” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mugen - CLOSED

Mugen
Price range: $50 - $199
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: City of London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good selection of quick meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was absolutely starving, I came a cross several eateries near to Farringdon station. Some how Mugen took m fancy. It serves a god range of sushi, sashimi , noodles, soup dishes and salads for £4.20 to £5.20. The choices are limited , but reasonably authentic.There are only a couple of seats indoors, but several table outside. Staff are pleasant and very helpful. This is.good place for a take out .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noorzaman r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    11
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, extensive menu...but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mugen is well located - opposite the tube at Monument, or a short walk from Bank or London Bridge tube stations. On a Tuesday night, the restaurant had constant business - even at the time we were leaving (9pm), business people were still showing up. Diners were a mix of business people, couples and Japanese diners (always a good sign right?!)

The menu is quite extensive - you'll be able to order all your favourites, plus some modern fusion-like dishes (for example peri peri satay chicken). The dishes were nice, but i can't say there were anything special. Between 2 of us we ordered 5 dishes - paying a total of £34 including soft drinks.

I'd visit again and try some of the rice dishes, as they looked reasonably priced for a weeknight dinner. My major gripe with Mugen was that my jacket, clothes and hair all smelt like smokey food upon departure. Even after hanging up my jacket next to the window overnight didn't help to remove the odour.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snow_winky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Average japanese food with average decor (and dirty toilets). If you want to try good japanese food in London go for Nobu or Roka.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julesjules100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant; disgusting food/value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Loving the restaurant decor. Restaurant sits in a good area and is convenient for evening meals after work... Staff were excellent, and service prompt.

The food is very poor. The squid was bland and nigh on unseasoned; ignoring of course the thimbleful of 'non descript Japanese black liquid' you get with it. Pretty much everything on the menu is overpriced by around 50-70%, especially given the sub-atomic portion sizes. This would probably be ideal if you were trying to prove you had more money than sense... Otherwise go to Zuma

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RudyardKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Went on Friday for lunch with work colleagues for a leaving the department lunch. We were in the private dining room. Wonderful dining experience. Lovely food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wendyjmsamuels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mugen also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
Stratford City, London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing