We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Fabulous Afternoon Tea”

Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge
Ranked #211 of 22,857 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $59
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: Offering postcard-worthy views over Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge is housed in the Marriott County Hall Hotel. In this landmark building, gorgeous library-style surroundings offer old world charm.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Truly Fabulous Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you like an Afternoon Tea experience then you really must try The Library Lounge. It is situated in the Marriott Hotel which used to be County Hall. Therefore the hotel is steeped in history. The nearest Tube Station is Westminster and it is no more than a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Once inside The Library Lounge you are in for a very special Afternoon. The Manager Alexandra, and her staff (a special mention to Laura) cannot do enough to make your afternoon such an enjoyable experience. The teas are excellent and the food is very good indeed. Plenty of fresh sandwiches, savoury and sweet scones and numerous mini cakes as well as the 'Bubbles'. Sitting in The Library Lounge you can see Big Ben and Westminster Pier. It is just such a wonderful afternoon chatting to friends or family and watching all the activity going on around the Thames whilst enjoying a fabulous Afternoon Tea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GMConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    75
    24
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cream teas with bubbles”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The county library Marriott hotel has the best cream tea's and flowing bubbles which only stop when you say, the food is as tasty and plentiful fresh and tasty! But the staff make it very special they have become friends and nothing is to much trouble. You are never rushed and if you want to stay after your time they will take you to a lovely area were they continue serving you! It's lovely and would highly recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Unlimited bubbles at the library lounge”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great afternoon at the Library Lounge. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by all the staff. The bubbles really were unlimited and the sandwiches and cakes were very good. A special mention to Rosa who really looked after us, thank you! Views over the Thames with Big Ben in the background added to the fun. I would definitely recommend this a great way to spend an afternoon with friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tubedancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea - Feeling very full!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Visited here as a birthday treat for someone. The location really is superb and after five mins waiting for some other people to leave we had a fantastic table next to the window with the fantastic views (and sounds) of Big Ben. If we are being picky there were a couple of niggles, one being if you feel more comfortable filling your face in a chair rather than an armchair, you have to let them know, but then having the sofa/armchairs around makes it more relaxed and libraryish so it's nice to have the choice. Also a few of our sarnies were getting a little dry and a new scone they were trying out wasn't to our taste but the rest of the food was lovely and we certainly didn't go hungry! The choice of tea was overwhelming for a builders tea drinker like me, but it made me try something different (although English Breakfast Tea was there too) and the staff were all fantastic. Anything they could do to help, they did. Would return and would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Traditional Experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Treated my wife to a high tea at the Mariott Library Lounge. We wanted to experience something very English and thought what a great place to do so! At £38 per head, it seemed reasonable with free flowing bubbles (which were a little TOO easy to drink). Whilst it does not seem like a lot of food initially, it took us a good two hours to work through it all including our two pots of tea, whilst gazing out over the Thames with a front row seat of Big Ben. Would recommend this experience to anyone travelling to London, we had high tea at 3:30pm and certainly didn't need dinner or even supper that evening. Staff were great, only downside was when it came time to request the bill, no one was to be found, the only staff member on the floor at the time was in deep conversation with some friends at a table adjacent us.

Helpful?
Thank Clusterpfaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing