We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A WONDERFUL AFTERNOON TEA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge

Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge
Ranked #57 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $56
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: Offering postcard-worthy views over Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge is housed in the Marriott County Hall Hotel. In this landmark building, gorgeous library-style surroundings offer old world charm.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL AFTERNOON TEA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have been to The Library Lounge for Afternoon Tea on three occasions in the past few months. The staff are so welcoming and the service is excellent. A special mention to Alexandra and Laura who always look after us so well. The setting is magnificent. Yesterday was a perfect day in London and we had a lovely window table overlooking Big Ben. It really is so nice to just sit, relax and enjoy a lazy afternoon whilst looking out at the amazing sights that London has to offer. The Afternoon Tea is a real treat and together with the great views and excellent service will mean that we will return again very shortly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GMConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    69
    20
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Booked afternoon tea with bubbles for a 3pm timeslot, arrived at 2.30 as it was raining heavily, we were warmly greeted by Laura/Lara who took our wet things and offered a choice of tables. She started the process by pouring a glass of bubbly while we chose our tea, great choice of sandwiches, scones and cakes, savoury scones were delicious so had a refill, bubbles were filled continually as was the tea, coffee and hot chocolate were also offered. We went for mums birthday treat and as I had emailed they bought out an individual chocolate cake complete with candle, we were made to feel very special and had a fantastic afternoon, never rushed, very interesting room which adds to the ambience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Big thank you to all staff at The Library Lounge, special mention for Alexandra. My daughter and I spent a fantastic afternoon having a very leisurely Afternoon Tea. Nothing was too much trouble. Incredible view of The Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. Lovely food with plenty to drink. Fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea - first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Although the pirce was £34 the free flowing bubbles really were "free flowing" Tea that was offered was shown to you in a large box where you could smell all the different sorts on offer. Sandwiches were lovely, & the scones were fabulous - one cheese scone that came with a jar of sour cream & chive spread, the other sweet with delicious jam & clotted cream. The views from the table of the Thames & Big ben were wonderful. It was a superb afternoon tea & the staff were very helpful & extremely friendly
Highly recommended

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlysue56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing day! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Went to The Library Lounge to have afternoon tea for my mother in laws 70th. It was fantastic! I have been to the Ritz and this was better. Constant flow of Prosecco even when we were finished ( most places would just want you out!) At the Ritz we were aware we had a ' time slot' and we had to be out at that time, at the library lounge no such pressure. Outstanding service, beautiful setting and view, and lovely food. I cannot recommend this afternoon tea enough. Just brilliant. They made my mother in law feel very special and she had a wonderful time. I am going to write to head office to say how good it was. I don't don't that lightly!

Helpful?
Thank Hibs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing