We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon Tea”

Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge
Ranked #82 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: Offering postcard-worthy views over Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge is housed in the Marriott County Hall Hotel. In this landmark building, gorgeous library-style surroundings offer old world charm.
england
1 review
“Great Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Went to the Library Lounge on Dec 1st to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday. We were welcomed and given a choice of tables, but not long after we were asked if we would prefer a window table as a party had just finished. Then they gave us all champagne whilst we chose tea. My son was offered hot chocolate and orange juice. Then after the tea was served the food arrived. Great selection of sandwiches, scones, cakes. We had extra sandwiches and they even brought a chocolate desert with a candle for my wifes birthday. The staff (Rosa in particular) took a shine to my son and brought a coloring book and pens to keep him occupied. All in all great experience and would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulfen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    74
    23
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fab way to spend an afternoon. A real treat with a great view”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Afternoon tea with bubbles. Perfect. A great deal. Excellent staff. A lovely way to spend an afternoon chatting with the girls.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cpartridg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Absolutely stunning afternoon tea. Huge choice of teas, gorgeous food, friendly and attentive staff all topped off with a top view of London. Can't recommend it enough and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campello, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lucky we weren't thirsty !”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Excellent setting with comfortable armchairs and great views of the Thames and Big Ben.
The food was very good and certainly plentiful , and the choice of tea first class.
The only complaint was that the advertised ' Free flowing bubbles ' simply wasn't the case !
After 30 minutes of waiting to be offered our first glass of bubbly , I eventually had to ask. A glass each was then provided , but no re-fills were offered until once again I had to ask . At no point could the champagne offering be considered to be ' free flowing ' .
Fortunately my friend and I are not big drinkers and so this was not a major disappointment. However , on another occasion this may prove to be annoying to those parties who are expecting the service that the name of this afternoon tea event conveys.
On the whole this is an enjoyable venue , but don't go if you're thirsty !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea with free flowing bubbles”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful venue with a great vue. The service from all staff was excellent, attentive but not too much so. I will be back again with more friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing