We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food......Poor Service”

Caffe Vergnano 1882
Ranked #179 of 664 Coffee & Tea in London
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Falmouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food......Poor Service”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My Fiance took me to London (amazing) and as we were walking around we stumbled across Cafe Vergnano. The menu looked lovely so decided to give it a try. We were sat down and then ignored for about 10 minutes, we had to ask a waiter for a menu. We were then asked by a different waiter 2 seconds later what we would like to choose, we had to explain that we had literally just received our menu, so he gave us some time to look. We then ordered some amazing food & wine. Very big filling portions made beautifully.

The down fall we found was that where we are from you chose whether you would like to tip, depending on the service received. Being in London we understand that service charges are automatic, however if there was a choice we would of not given one, or if we did it would only of been on the understanding that it was for the chef's and not the for the waiter service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zarawills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, not the cheapest but big portions and consistent quality”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've visited cafe Vergnano, just off the South Bank, on a number of occasions and have never had a bad dish. Their pasta is cooked to perfection, always tasty, authentic and large portions. Pear, cheese and walnut salad is great to share as a started but filling enough for a main course if you have some bread with it. Wines are good quality, reasonably priced and their mocha is to die for - rich dark chocolate, great coffee and cream - it's more a dessert than a drink. Looking forward to my next visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walker036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Was a bit hesitant about eating here after previous reviews but we had a lovely couple of pasta dishes ( strongly recommend the lobster and chicory dish) accompanied by a good glass of medium priced red and the service from what I assume was the boss, was really good. We weren't hassled or unnecessary bothered and he was polite and friendly. It's just a shame that there weren't more people there to add to the atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Save your pennies...eat from the stalls!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

After a very nice evening listening to Beethoven and Tchaicovsky...delightfuly played by the LPO (London Philharmonic Ochestra), food was needed!
Cafe Vergnano was the only restaurant able to accomodate the 4 of us???? alarm bells should of rang. The waiting staff were miserable as was the weather outside, the in-effiency was second to none with a serious attitude problem to match.
The food looked like it was catapulted onto the plate, and quite frankly was somewhat tasteless.
At roughly £25 per head including drinks (1 bottle of house red), I would have rather of donated it to the shores of the Thames in hope that a homeless person found it.
From such a lovely concert from the LPO to the shear depths of dissapointment of the above mentioned restaurant that is nothing more than tantamount to a glorrified pizzaria without the good fortune of the safety of a pizza!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forbiche08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate ever!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Delicious, authentic hot chocolate - very thick and rich!
Husband had a mocha which he loved - was presented in a stylish way!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RachelandStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Vergnano 1882 also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Vergnano 1882? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing