We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza as you were in Naples!”

Rossopomodoro - Covent Garden
Ranked #1,053 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Our Neapolitan pizza and food are the most authentic you will find in London: come and try a genuine slice of Naples.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pizza as you were in Naples!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The title says all.

We had pizza as we were in the pizza's mecca, Napoli. Of course there you'll find many places where the pizza is even better, but for sure the pizza we had last night was WAY BETTER any pizza you can have in the rest of Italy!!!

Unfortunately the service is quite rude, inattentive and unprofessional, but I think this is something I can live with considering how tasty the food was!

Our 3yo lovely daughter had meatballs from the kids menu, they were quite average though.

In the end we payed £135 for 6 pizzas, 1 Kid's menu, 5 small beers, 2 Cokes and 1 small bottle of still water. No starters neither desserts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruceWayneIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    375
    136
    80
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food served by friendly staff”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Have visited this restaurant a number of times with different friends and have always enjoyed it. It's a busy restaurant so do expect to wait but the service is quick and efficient. The food is very home made Italian tasting and offers a great selection. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Used to be good, now just a rip off”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What used to be one of the best authentic italian restaurants in London, has not degraded to very poor quality food, and even poorer service from management.

I had dinner in Sept in Monmouth street, very attractive restaurant, attentive staff, but soggy pizza and dry pasty pasta, with half the seafood shells unopened, dreadful.

Wrote a complain to info@rossopomodorro email address, received a delayed reply and offer of a gift certificate to try another of their locations,,,,,,,must be on Italian time as no gift certificate and no one will even respond to my emails,,,,,bloody typical.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and never again!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Form the outside it looks lovely ,inviting and authentic, so top marks so far.
Our waitress was very good, efficient, helpful and had a lovely manner, so again top marks.
It was Sunday 21st October at approx 8pm.
What really let this restaurant down was its food, or to be more precise its Pasta dishes, as thats what we had. Mine came luke warm, almost cold, so I sent it back, not great that they cant get a dish hot eh, I manage to do it and so did every other busy restaurant in London that week.
The pasta was not fresh pasta but dried, packet stuff...come on guys you plaster authentic Italy all over your marketing, but dried packet pasta, no way !
It came back hot, probably microwaved, but was runny in texture, bland and tasteless, I left it after a few mouthfulls, gutted. What this restaurant promised from its looks it simply didnt or couldn't deliver.

OK, so we all get this wrong, I understand, so how did they react? I didnt shout or stomp, simply refused to pay a tip and gently told the waitress when she asked what I thought about the food.
I had sent most of it back to the kitchen when she cleared the table. She went and spoke to the manager, how did he react? NOTHING, not a quite word, not even an apology, not even a small discount. So I left feeling very disappointed, ripped off, just a number, unwanted and well to tell you the truth like telling everybody I can to avoid this place and eat at one of the other many love places on the same street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rubbish service. Rubbish menu. Below average food. For what we have it was to expensive. Won't go again even though we live locally.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank onearchiegemmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossopomodoro - Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Rossopomodoro - Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing