We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect option for your first time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant

Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,357 of 20,907 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect option for your first time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have decided to try ethiopian food for the first time and following the tripadvisor rate we decided to try this restaurant. it´s just only couple of minutes walking from the underground and the local is traditionally decorated. The service is excellent, they help you with everything, different dishes options and you can choose to eat on a traditional way (with the hands). The food is really tasty and if you love spicy, you always can ask for different spicy sauces. We cannot compare but we really enjoy the place and the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FernandoL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    27
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Honest tasty food, friendly service, cafe style surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've visited enough Ethiopian restaurants in London's fair city to start considering ourselves "amateur connoisseurs" and have to say that this is one of our favourites. The food is tasty, and reasonably priced and the lady who runs it is really lovely, chatty and helpful. The restaurant itself is in fairly unassuming surroundings just near to cally road tube. The interior is kind of sparse. We had a vegetable selection and then a lamb dish and a beef dish with 2 injera and struggled to finish everything. It was all delicious. Especially the vegetable dishes - we're not vegetarians but I can see this place really appealing to non meat eaters due to the wide selection of veggie stuff available.

For those complaining about the surroundings - this isn't a posh restaurant. You're there to eat delicious home cooked food with your fingers . Stop complaining! It's social experience so great to do with groups of friends - or just as a couple. Try it. It's jolly good fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KTuck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quite a let-down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to this restaurant expecting to eat fantastic food, because of the incredible amount of excellent reviews on trip advisor. But I have to say that we found the food very underwhelming and overall it fell well below our expectations.

I have to say that I really liked the place itself . The lady that owns the place is a lovely woman who is very calm and composed and clearly has everything well under control.

However in my opinion, the food was not good at all, it was completely tasteless and the meat was also very tough.

In fact, I just wouldn’t recommend the place to friends and I wouldn’t go back myself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Katuta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food!! Deserves 5 stars any day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First, whoever writes negative comments about Kokeb is either:
a. competitor (lots of restaurants on Caledonian road), or
b. not able to appreciate good food.

So if you are appreciate good food with Ethiopian twist then this is your place to go!

Compared to other Ethiopian restaurants I have eaten in London, this is the best! I have been a regular customer for years and taken all my friends to eat here and they have returned with their friends often without me - how rude :)

Her injura "pancakes" are not like others, they are not yeasty and sour so you won't be fed up with them after having one. My personal favorites are red lentils, chicken dish (doro wot), crumbly cheese and tender fish pieces. These 4 are often more than enough for two people to share and you won't spend a fortune. Beer and wine is affordable too. If you wish to have authentic Ethiopian coffee then she will happily perform a coffee ceremony Ethiopian way.

I understand that the owner works hard and if you book in advance she will have extra help on the night, but this means booking in advance (day or two) and not on the day. She cooks, serves, entertains guests and cleans. To me she is a super hero with a lovely restaurant.

After we discovered her little place on Roman Way, I have not eaten Ethiopian food anywhere else - I now know the difference!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank incaannica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful host and awesome food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have been coming to Kokeb for years now, the food is absolutely fantastic. I must admit a guilty pleasure of mine is the Injera, with lamb cooked in butter and chillies. It is run by a lovely host, who is a pleasure and delight to meet every time I am there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing