We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Taste of Ethiopia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant

Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,362 of 20,772 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Taste of Ethiopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate to have spent several months in Ethiopia many years ago and loved not only the food but the communal method of eating. I was pleased to see such a highly rated restaurant in London and I am very pleased we tried it. The owner/ waitress was very pleasant and helpful in picking dishes and we enjoyed them all. The Doro wot was thick and very spicy and delicious, and my only comment is that given the lack of utensils it would be easier to eat if the chicken was deboned. The injera was good but not made with Tef. The spicy beef dish was good as were the veggie dishes. I particularly liked the split yellow peas which were a nice mild compliment to the main dishes. We had mint tea which was lovely. We didn't try dessert as we were very full. Lovely meal and brought back good memories of Ethiopia.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    24
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Interesting food, friendly welcome, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This small restaurant, tucked away behind Pentonville Prison, is definitely worth seeking out. For me it was a first (but I hope not last) taste of Ethiopian cuisine, and I found it extremely enjoyable - for £16 pounds ahead we had enough food to keep us very nicely full, with an Ethiopian beer to drink.

Served communally, and eaten by tearing the unleavened bred into little 'parcels' one fill with meat or vegetables (these were particularly nice), eating is an enjoyable and eating experience.

Kokeb is a small restaurant (6 tables, I think), and clearly the lovely and welcoming owner has a lot to do to serve and (I think) cook as well - so this isn't the place to go for fast food. But if you want to try something different in north London, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KentishMan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Yummo! Very accomodating for my friend to practice his language skills. Order what she tells you to and it will be worth it.

Helpful?
Thank lizandaims
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like being invited to an exotic dinner at your posh relative's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There are several choices in London for Ethiopian, and I've just had the best. The food is excellent; you can taste the care, subtlety, effort and quality whatever you order. I had the vegetarian combination and couldn't decide which dish I liked better. The dining space is very well-lit, nicely decorated and comfortable. Above all, the service is wonderful; a very hospitable if not familial atmosphere. I cannot recommend Kokeb enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suavein650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“So delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visited with a group of colleagues after reading the excellent reviews on here. None of us having eaten Ethiopian food before, we were a bit unsure what to order so decided on the Kokeb House Special priced at £14 each. We were served a delicious selection of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes accompanied by injera (Ethiopian flatbread). It was also good to sample Ethiopian lager and bitter and everything is very reasonably priced. I would probably go every night if I was a local! Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing