We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite London Find”

Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,102 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My Favourite London Find”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We came across Kokeb when my partner and I were trying to find a great Ethiopian restaurant in London. That was about a year ago. Since then we have been back almost every week or at least every second week to get our fix. Its a little out of the way but worth it, without a doubt, although it is only a 3 min walk from Caledonian Rd tube stop.
Starting with the hostess Geti...She is a true gem. So nice and hospitable. She is only too happy to help you with first timer selections or regular dinners tough choices. And then she is off out the back to cook.
As far as choice goes there is a wide variety on the menu to contemplate and plenty of choice in vegetarian dishes as well. What ever you do make sure you try the injera with you dishes.
Yes there are not a lot of wine choices but the wine is fine. I actually find that beer goes much better in any case.
Regardless of your choice I am sure you will enjoy it and like me will be popping that top button undone before you leave.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank APHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    29
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian Food I've Ever Had”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Let me preface this by saying that I spent 6 weeks in Ethiopia this year. Throughout that time I never tasted anything even remotely as good as the dishes served at this restaurant. It's quaint, out of the way, authentic, and cheap! Seriously, it's the type of place anyone can enjoy. Don't expect high class dining decor, but you will experience amazing service. The cook comes out to meet you and help you choose dishes that suit your tastes. She recommended some wonderful dishes for us. I would go back again and again! Great little place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful local restaurant!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I live close to this restaurant – but never seen it, until I found it on this website. It´s fabulous! It is a very simple restaurant. They only got 2 types of wine (both ok ones). The food though – spectacular! Who would have know the variety of tastes one dish can have! And the service amazing – the lady who owns the restaurant does everything. She is so lovely! She even remembers me every time - and I have not been that often! Strongly recommend this place!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wow. Great food, reasonably priced, and warm and delightful owner/chef”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is a small, slightly out of the way, neighborhood restaurant that is a real find. The owner/chef is warm, welcoming, and very friendly. The food is fantastic. There's a variety of richly spiced and tasty dishes to choose from. If you like Ethiopian food, or want to try it, definitely go here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZenTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing