We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, breakfast ok”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #820 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, breakfast ok”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rooms very clean and well equipped,might need to get extra pillow!
The cleaners are friendly and will give you more tea etc if you ask.
Easy for Stratford and Westfield and free parking a bonus.Bus stop outside and 3 stops from town, 15min walk.Indian restaurant at end of rd good food and good value but the staff need to smile more.Generally good value but breakfast a bit basic.You can negotiate room rates and getn10-20£ off if they are quiet.Wifi is £3hr or £6 day, Fir e station opposite can be noisy (sirens) when busy!

Room Tip: No pool and restaurant only open for breakfast. Back rooms on 2nd floor give view of canary wharf a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evesham56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    225
    216
    81
    67
See reviews for
179
228
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

This is standard b n b with clean good size rooms and showa... Price for location is very good. Defenetly go there again and so shud u if ur lookin for 1 in romford road stratford...i have to say there lobby is impresive for the budget hotel they are but one thing i did not like is the breakfast served, just wasnt to my likeing, taste presentation and service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Viking for one reason only, we live a couple of streets away and were having to do urgent dusty work on our house and needed to be away from that environment for at least one night and also to give a free space for the professionals who were doing part of the work
It’s only the second time i’ve needed to use a hotel in London as i live here!, so cannot easily make comparisons but i certainly have opinions about somewhere people are visiting from elsewhere –
• Having read some other tripadvisor reports after we came home i can confirm that =
o Yes it’s a very convenient position to get to other places from, 10/15 mins walk from stratford station that has connections on jubilee and central line tube + overground lines and docklands light railway & buses
o Our room was comfy and bigger than we needed, bathroom clean & good shower
o Nice friendly helpful staff
o The lift worked
o Our room was quiet and had a nice view including the millennium dome and the canary wharf tower
• Also tho
o The room was very stuffy as the windows didn’t open much and even with the fan on we were glad to get up early and go for a walk outside
o I was surprised that when we arrived and i wanted to pay, the staff at reception said the visa payment thing wasn’t working and could i pay cash? I said that it wasn’t my habit to walk around carrying £80 in cash and waited for their reaction because i was ready to cancel the booking and go up to the Ibis in stratford. It then turned out that ‘we could try it anyway and see’ and when ‘we’ tried, it seemed in working order and i paid with my visa card. This seemed a puzzling occurrence so possibly worth reporting
o The breakfast was described as ‘continental’; and i have no idea which as yet unexplored continent they have in mind but the combination of white sliced polystyrene and 2 types of rubbery tasteless cold meats and some scary orange coloured processed cheese must have taken the management a lot of trouble to locate, and this gives a very bad impression to people coming from elsewhere, also the orange drink (not juice) was not very orang-y?
o Actually the black coffee was excellent, but we were glad to get home and eat something normal (hint, there are 2 minimarket 24/7 –ish chains & also cafes within walking distance)
o Well at least the breakfast was included (Ibis up the road makes a charge)
• Overall we had the impression of a reliable hotel with regular business users, eg builders, who know what they are getting and what to expect, but i think the hotel should up their game if they want to get visitors for the Olympics as Romford Road where it is has lots of other small hotels, being one of the old roman roads from in this case the route between the centre of London and the ferry port of Harwich for Belgium and the Netherlands
• Thats all we can think of that may or may not be helpful
1 londoner + 1 Irish

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nalonaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

the hotel was very easy to find only 10 min walk from the station. unlike some of the other reviews on here i found this hotel very clean and the staff very polite and helpful . we only had one night but although hotel is on a main road we slept really well . breakfast was basic but i didnt have a problem with that. i only had two minor problems and that was only one pillow , and only two towels for a triple room (although i'm sure they would have sorted these out if i asked ) overall i was very happy with my stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danno501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The place was dirty, unsafe, noisy. There was a fight across the "court yard" that the police had to come and arrest the parties involved. The management never came to even check it was a guest that called the police. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Appleby
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Where to start..... just stay away...... Booked into the hotel to attend some training, rooms had been recently decorated, and bathroom area clean, but the smell of smoke was awful.... Very noisy so if you want a good nights sleep forget it! This is used by a lot of contractors, no offence lads but do you really need to rev engines and have conversations at full blast outside other peoples rooms! Beds were so hard... floor might have been softer! Breakfast was a joke.... warm yogurts, cornflakes or rice crispies, a selection of processed meat and cheese, well 2 types..... white bread only, and apparently toast I would call it slightly coloured bread, that was left stacked so nice and sloggy! Orange juice was the water mix type. I wish I hadn't bothered as felt awful for the rest of the day........ Also as a single female traveller I feel that being on a ground floor is totally unacceptable! Also they did say it was a 10 mins away from the station, well only if your name is Bolt! If your going to see the Olympics don't stay here!

Room Tip: Dont bother -
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCAAppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetzikon, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I was staying there during Easter and got 2 motel rooms which do not match positive reviews I had read here. In fact the rooms were stinky, bathroom accessories were falling off the wall and the radiator was full of dust. Moreover, there was no quilts or blankets in the room so we had to use thin sheets only. Breakfast was served until 9 am only which wouldn't be a big issue if I was there for business. The only positive aspect of staying there was the price but if I had known what I was getting I would have not chosen it.

Room Tip: You should stay away from the "motel" part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bastek72pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#710 of 1,068 in London
137 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#580 of 1,068 in London
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boston Manor Hotel
#787 of 1,068 in London
292 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#965 of 1,068 in London
247 reviews
Leigham Court Hotel
#535 of 1,068 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 162 Romford Road, London E15 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #820 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing