We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

The Foyer At Claridge's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it's the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the most fabulous afternoon tea on Monday 26th. What a treat, fantastic surroundings, service and food were out of this world. Can't wait to do it again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ellmatt373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear "ellmatt373",

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent Afternoon Tea experience. I was thrilled to read that you found every aspect of your visit enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    161
    50
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea ”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea this afternoon was really very impressed and all the staff were very friendly, not snooty at all! Very nice treat for a special occasion.

Helpful?
1 Thank dandan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear "dandan4",

Thank you for your review, I shall be delighted to share your kind words with the team.

Kind regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon tea”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Researched all the London options and without a doubt chose the best there could be. There are lots if novelty/themed teas out there but if you want your kids to experience the real classic deal then head for Claridges. Kids half price menu is a bonus - not that they didn't tuck into the endlessly replenished adults platters. But what made our experience so special is the balance of impeccable but relaxed and welcoming service in a fabulous setting. 3hrs of unrushed, unstuffy, luxurious family enjoyment. Cannot wait to find excuse to return.

Helpful?
2 Thank mrsbizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear "mrsbizzy"

Thank you for your wonderful Afternoon Tea review and I am very glad that you made mention of our Children's Afternoon Tea.

For our younger guests we have introduced a new menu of treats that has been carefully designed by our kitchen team. We have also designed a menu that can be coloured in to keep our young VIPs entertained for the afternoon! It seems to have been met with a seal of approval.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Top Tea.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

As a treat we took our daughter to Claridge's for Sunday afternoon tea and it really was exquisite.
The whole experience was a joy, from having the different types of tea and choices of sandwiches and delicacies courtiously explained to us, to the explanations of our fellow guests who were enjoying the delights prior to the Bafta Awards later that evening. The surroundings and decor lend themselves to a sophisticated and relaxed atmosphere leaving one to merely enjoy it all.
We could not find fault but special mention should be made of the friendly staff who could not have been more helpful. Apart from the champagne, the Lemongrass Tea was also well worth trying but in truth everything was delightful.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tedioustommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear "tedioustommo",

Thank you for your very positive review of Afternoon Tea at Claridge's. I am delighted to be able to share your review with the team.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the Lemongrass tea, this is one of our new teas on a list that has been curated by Henrietta Lovell of The Rare Tea company. There are 22 other teas for you to sample and so we hope to see you back at Claridge's again to do so!

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Festive Afternoon Tea at Claridges....”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

December 29, 2013 - Not to be missed!! While on Christmas holiday, my boyfriend and I choose to make advance reservations for tea at the iconic Claridges. From the time you enter, until the time you leave, you are surrounded by elegance and beauty. The wait staff is superior and the food is delectable. The pastries are well crafted and decadent. If on holiday or looking for a fabulous location to enjoy an afternoon tea in London, I highly recommend making reservations for tea in The Foyer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenyReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear "JenyReg",

Thank you for a truly wonderful review on The Foyer's Afternoon Tea.

You were lucky enough to experience Claridge's at the most magical time of year; Christmas. We hope to welcome you back for Festive Afternoon Tea this year or indeed on your next trip to the UK.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing