We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch”

The Foyer At Claridge's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it's the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a fabulous lunch yesterday for my niece's 21st birthday. The set menu for lunch had a great choice. I had the fillet - perfectly cooked. The service was excellent and of course the setting beautiful. Will definitely go back!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doofers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear "Doofers",

Thank you for a great review. I am so glad that you all enjoyed yourselves for your nieces 21st birthday.

We hope to welcome you all back to the Foyer & Reading Room in the near future.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    161
    50
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable service and divine food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yesterday six of us celebrated my daughter’s 21st birthday. We had watched the TV programme about Claridges and my daughter had said she would love to visit.

I was a little worried that because we were choosing from the Menu du Jour that the service might be a little less attentive - I couldn’t be more wrong. The service was impeccable, friendly but discreet at the same time and I have to say the menu choice was excellent – Aberdeen Angus fillet steak on a 3 course menu for £35 at one of the best hotels in London – amazing and it didn’t disappoint. They even brought out a tiny birthday cake with a candle when we had coffees. We left just as people were being served afternoon tea which looked beautiful so that will certainly be our next treat at Claridges!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear "sheena W",

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch experience at The Foyer & Reading Room.

The Menu du Jour is priced at £35 for a three course lunch and changes weekly. We think it offers great value for money and it is encouraging to read that you think so too!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Claridge's in the near future.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our Afternoon Tea at Claridge's. The sandwiches were mouth watering and not your normal cheese and ham. The fillings were quite adventurous. The plates were refilled until you were ready for scones and cakes. Again these were good to look at and even better to taste.
The hotel is charming, the staff were friendly and made time to speak to you. Nothing was too much trouble. We could not finish all the cakes and what was so nice was they boxed these up for us to take away.
Certainly would recommend as putting on your to do list.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear "Sue T",

Thank you for your wonderful Afternoon Tea review.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We paid £100 for two Afternoon Teas at Claridge's.
It was an absolutely brilliant experience and well worth the money.
The food and service were exceptional.
Highly Recommended.
Here is a handy tip :- Just before you finish all your Cakes and Fancies, order another plateful, then all the Cakes and Fancies you didn't have room for can be boxed and taken away.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowdray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear "chowdray"

Thank you for your very positive Trip Advisor review.

With kind regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Afternoon tea in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Claridge's has the best afternoon tea in London.Their sandwiches are simply divine and the scones are excellent.Coupled with their in house Marco Polo jelly,it's simply out of this world.Pastries are good as well though they change it now on a weekly instead of daily basis
However their afternoon tea does not come cheap though it must be said that they do offer unlimited servings and change of beverages.Service is generally outstanding but only if you get the right waiters

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Motoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear "Motoda",

Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea experience at Claridge's. To read that you consider us the best in London is high praise indeed!

We hope to welcome you back to Claridge's in the near future.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing