We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Very British - Perfect”

The Foyer At Claridge's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 23,391 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it's the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Organised afternoon tea for four as a surprise for my partner. Although we had to book several weeks in advance, it was very much worth the wait; it was absolutely perfect. From the moment we arrived we were made most welcome. Afternoon tea at Claridges is like stepping back in time. We were treated like Royalty. Don't worry that you will be hungry when you leave as the sandwiches and cakes just keep coming until you plead "no more please!" You can try as many teas as you like and your waiter will pour for you and you are never rushed. Ladies (and gentlemen), there is a cloakroom to change your shoes (if you have been sightseeing in something more comfortable and want to wear something daintier for tea) where you can also freshen up and leave your coats and bags. Claridges is definitely a treat and a really special afternoon, but don't be put off thinking it might be snooty because it isn't; it's how afternoon tea should be. We can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TravelandCake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear "TravelandCake2013",

Thank you for a truly wonderful review. To be described as perfect is more than we could wish for.

With best regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 728 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

A wonderful anniversary dinner - the staff were very attentive and the food was of excellent quality. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and hope to be back again for the afternoon tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank osina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear "osina73",

Thank you for a very positive review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your anniversary dinner with us.

Perhaps you make dinner at Claridge's an annual event? We would love to welcome you back.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Afternoon tea at Claridges is always lovely. The staff make no distinction between you and the next guy and their professionalism is second to none. The tea itself is scrummy and delicious. A wide selection of freshly made sandwiches is followed by warm scones with jam and cream, followed by exquisite slices of at least four homemade cakes. If you run out of sandwiches, or require more jam or cream nothing is too much trouble. The choice of tea is also staggering and a glass of champagne makes the whole experience something very special. This is a real treat and well worth the wait required to book a table. (Make sure you don't book supper that evening though - you'll never manage it)!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear "Firethorne",

Thank you for a wonderful review on your recent Afternoon Tea experience. It gives me great pleasure to share your kind words with the team.

Our pastries change weekly and so there should be something new for you to try on your next visit!

With best wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Lovely afternoon tea with my 2 daughters and granddaughter celebrating our good fortune. serene and gentle ambience, choice of teas and quiet and accommodating service. a very special time for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear "Penny D",

Thank you for a great review.

We hope to be able to welcome back all three generations in the future.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked afternoon tea to celebrate our parents' Golden Wedding. Anxious it would not live up to expectations but there was no need. Stunning setting filled with flowers and gentle music. Impeccable service, particularly from Diego, and the most amazing range of beautifully prepared things to eat. Fresh, flavourful perfectly formed finger sandwiches, a gorgeous selection of warm scones and delicate pastries of all kinds. They just kept bringing more - we could not have eaten everything (they actually boxed up what we didn't eat so the one member of our party who was ill and couldn't attend got to share in the lovely eats too!) Plus lovely packets of Claridge's sweets to take home. There were 10 of us and we all had different teas but Diego replenished cups all the time discreetly and diligently. He brought a beautiful decorated platter for our parents to celebrate their anniversary, which wasn't requested but that's the level of service you expect from such a lovely place. Expensive for what it is? Of course, but worth every single penny. Mum was thrilled with her Golden treat, and that's the best part of all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank funnyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear "funnyhols",

Thank you for a great review on your recent visit to Claridge's. We are honoured that you chose Claridge's for such a very special occasion as your parent's Golden Wedding Anniversary.

It gives me great pleasure to share your review with the team, and especially with Diego, he truly is one of our superstars.

With warm wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing