We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

The Foyer At Claridge's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it's the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had lunch here for my Birthday, What a fabulous place to dine, the food was to die for and the service exceptional . We were made very welcome from the moment we entered the art deco building to leaving . I had the Mackerel to start which was so tasty then the salmon followed by apple and cinnamon crumble, 20/10.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemaggie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear "maggiemaggie56",

Thank you for a fantastic lunch review! 20 out of 10, wow! I shall be very glad to share your comments with the team

Until the next time,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    163
    51
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a lovely afternoon tea with friends to celebrate my birthday.
The staff were attentive and kept offering more sandwiches, scones and cakes.
I thought the warm scones and jelly were delicious. The cakes were lovely and they boxed up what we couldnt eat to take home.
A couple of the people I was with do not like tea but it was no problem for them to have coffee.
A lovely experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleLaura521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear "LittleLaura521",

Thank you for a lovely Trip Advisor review. It gives me great pleasure to read that you and your friends had such an enjoyable celebration for your birthday. We hope you make it an annual event!

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Four of us visited for dinner one Saturday evening, in celebration of a birthday.
We had all been eagerly anticipating the night, and were not disappointed. The staff, as you
may well expect, were faultless. There when you want them to be, but never hovering by your elbow. I have no idea how this is taught, but it is well worth the effort.
We started with a cocktail in the Fumoir, which I would recommend to everyone. It is like stepping back into the 30's, and an absolute delight.
We all ate off the set menu, and it was very nice, though I couldn't honestly say it was the best meal I have ever eaten.
The highlight of the food was, in fact, the dessert. There were four choices on the menu, so we selected them all between us, and passed them around freely. Probably not the done thing, but each was so delicious that it seemed unreasonably for each person to hog their own.
We had one bottle of wine, a couple of bottles of water (I think) and coffees, for which the bill was £390 (inc a well earned tip).
This doesn't include the 3 cocktails and a water we enjoyed in the Fumoir, which was £63. Don't skip this part though, it's absolutely essential!
Although it's likely that you can eat better than this for the money, you certainly couldn't have a better evening. I will be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear "James B",

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Foyer & Reading Room. I am so glad you read that you had an enjoyable evening with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Claridge's in the near future.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

great service, friendly staff and wonderful tea served in an atmosphere of calm. Brilliant. I had to book 5 months ago and even then there was no availability for tea on a Saturday. Nevertheless the tea was an occasion and a real treat.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear "1Sussexgal",

Thank you for a very positive review, it is very much appreciated.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

& the ambience is great too, just so pleasant to have dinner with lovely live music in the background and in exquisite surroundings. Best hotel in London without a doubt

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear "Paula P",

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank you sincerely,

Until the next time,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing