We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sized apartment and superb location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
Ranked #101 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sized apartment and superb location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in November for a weekend and couldn't fault the apartment. Really good location within easy walking distance of Russell Sq and Holborn stations. Nice sized apartment for London with a great living area and big bathroom (no bath but huge shower!) Very clean and well equipped.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demeter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
10
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

This place is fantastic in every way. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodbridge32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Finding good, comfortable, affordable and convenient accommodation in London is always a drama. This one, however, is pretty good compared to most others. We stayed here with our 1yr old, and he was quite happy to run around the 1br apartment.

The only real drama with the rooms was the lack of adequate ventilation - no air conditioning and no fans. On warm and/or muggy nights it was terrible to try and sleep. Also, the main bedroom was directly next to a walkway, which made it difficult to keep the window open because of the noise of people coming and going.

The location is ok. A few minutes walk to Russell Square tube station.

The real highlight for us, however, was Coram's Fields - a children-only park only a few steps from the apartment. We had many happy times there, with our child exploring all of the play equipment, and even making some new friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Just returned from a stay in these apartments. They were ideally situated about a 5-10 minute walk from Russell Square tube station and therefore only a short ride into centre of London. The apartment (1 bedroom) was very clean and had everything we needed for a family stay (2 adults and 1 child). It was very warm in London while we were there and therefore needed to keep windows open but this did mean a lot of street noise from delivery vans through the night. Apart from this it was a very good place to stay and we would definitely stay there again. The supermarket underneath had fresh bread and croissants every morning and several coffee shops nearby provided a nice breakfast if you don't want to make your own.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn_michael3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at SACO Holborn on the last leg of a 3 week family trip to the UK. We travelled with our 3 and 5 year old children and booked a 1 bedroom apartment with an extra bed in the living room.

We found the apartment to be clean and up to our expectations. Modern in design with good security . The bathroom in particular was well above the usual British standards with a great power shower and the L' Occitane toiletries were a treat.

Washer/dryer worked perfectly. While there was an unexpected (but very useful) free welcome pack in the kitchen (even a pint of organic semi-skimmed in the fridge) and plenty of washing up stuff/dishwashing/binliners, we had to buy laundry detergent and softener in order to do a couple of loads. It would have been a nice touch for SACO to include a couple of sachets of the stuff for guests. I hope our cleaning lady was able to make use of the nearly full bottle of detergent etc which we left behind.

Please be aware that there is no wifi available. Only a broadband connection (at 15 quid/week ). This is not really a complaint but in this wireless age, it would be a good idea to have a router in each apartment.

We did have an issue with the inflexible early check-in charge of 10 quid/hour if you wish to check in before the official check-in time of 4pm. This came to 50 quid as we arrived just before 11 am. Personally I felt that the official check-in time of 4 pm was far too late and the early check-in charge was not reasonable at all.

Other things to note :
(1) No air-conditioning in the apartment although a standing fan had been provided in the bedroom. As we visited during the summer, we had to leave windows open which made the evenings/nights a little noisy due to the children's hospital directly opposite and a lovely Italian restaurant downstairs and a popular pub (The Lamb) just down the road.

(2) We also had to make repeated calls down to reception to get someone to replace the newfangled DVD rack which managed to detach itself from the wall before it was finally fixed 2 days later.

(3) No corkscrew in the kitchen although there was the much vaunted cheese grater!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxmonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
150 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Saco Holborn is very decently located in central London, between Holborn and Russell Square. The nearest tube station is Russell Square (along the Piccadilly line) which is a comfortable 7 minute walk away. Should you wish to take the Central Line (and the Piccadilly line), Holborn tube station is a 10 minute walk away. Located along Lamb’s Conduit Street and next to the famous Great Ormond Street Hospital , it’s a very safe and a not too busy street. The Lamb pub and Ciao Bella Italian restaurant, both are perennially busy and crowded every evening. So, it might get a bit noisy for some of the bedrooms facing the main street. There’s the People’s Supermarket next door which makes it more convenient.
Staying in a serviced apartment, you get a no-frills sort of situation. No bell-boys, room service, concierge, daily cleaning of premises, daily change of bath towels, full set of toiletries, replacement of bottled water, making of beds etc etc. Well, unless you stay probably for more than a week, and you will get ONE cleaning session. You also need to take your own garbage out as well. However, the lady who checked us in did try her best to assist us in lugging our luggage (which was actually pretty big and heavy) up some stairs into the lift and through the narrow corridors. So, those with huge luggage, please be prepared for it!
The living/dining area is decently sized (by London’s standards), furnishing is standard and modern. The 2 bedrooms are habitable (also by London’s standards) and the bed sheets and mattresses are reasonable…… until we discovered a speck of bloodstain on the pillow case and several dried up rice granules on the sofa set. So, it was not nearly as clean as we would have expected. But nothing spectacularly major. There’s a washing/dryer machine, iron with ironing board, well-equiped kitchen with a microwave, oven, fridge etc. That’s a major plus point if you are staying for a longer period.
However, the most unpleasant part of the stay was, apart from the minor cleanliness issue, was their inability to provide me with internet service (some cabling issue) which could not be rectified throughout my stay. It was excruciatingly inconvenient and frustrating.
Notwithstanding those issues, our stay was good value for money, location was very decent, and most importantly, especially for those on longer stay, you do not have to suffer and endure staying in claustrophobic-like hotel rooms which most of us would have experienced in London.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACOholborn, Manager at SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at SACO Holborn. We are glad you enjoyed the apartment.

I’m really sorry to hear that you had so much trouble with the internet. We had an IT Specialist coming in and it has since been fixed and the internet is back up and running.

As to the cleanliness issue, we had a member of my Housekeeping Team going into your Apartment to fix up all the outstanding cleaning.
My apologies for not picking up on them earlier. Please note, that the red marks you found were actually red nail polish.

I hope that you had an enjoyable time at SACO Holborn and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Alex Sonnichsen
Apartment Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have been to London a few times and like staying in different parts of the city and also like apartment hotels as they provide more room for our family and the kitchen facilities are welcome. This location is very close to many popular sights and we were able to easily walk to our evening show. The local area is very welcoming with lots of little shops and restaurants. The apartment had a great living room/kitchen which was fortunate as by the time we got to that room we were not impressed. The walls were dirty and scuffed, the hallway and bedroom carpets were dirty and stained and the beds were ancient. Like the living area ,the bathroom renos were very nice except the vanity cabinent protruded from the wall so far that you could not bend over the sink without bumping your head on the mirror. We understand that London is expensive, especially in the summer , but in this case we did not feel that the rooms justified the price. The bright side was that the front desk staff and the manager were quick to respond to our comments and promised that they would communicate our concerns which was much appreciated. Hopefully SACO will finish the renovations and then this will be a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bettertravel4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACOholborn, Manager at SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at SACO Holborn.

We are currently in the process of rectifying the issues you have mentioned. All carpets will be professionally cleaned and some painting and decorating work will also be done. We have purchased new mattresses to improve the comfort of our beds.

Thank you again for giving us your feedback and I hope that you had an enjoyable time at SACO Holborn and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Alex Sonnichsen
Apartment Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#566 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#328 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Bloomsbury
No 5 Doughty Street
No 5 Doughty Street
#376 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Rosebery Aparthotel
The Rosebery Aparthotel
#39 of 828 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Apple Apartments - The Strand
City of London
The King`s Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St

Property: SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
Address: Spens House | 72-84 Lamb's Conduit St, London WC1N 3LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco London - Holborn Hotel London
SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing