We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our experience at Great Ormond street hospital so much easier....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
Ranked #101 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made our experience at Great Ormond street hospital so much easier....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom studio apartment for just under 3 weeks in april 2009 - my daughter was having major surgery in Great Ormond Street, and the aparment was directly opposite the hospital. I cannot praise the whole set up enough, even while my daughter was in the middle of her 8 1/2 hour surgery, we were back in the apartment which felt close enough for me to leave the hospital grounds. We had more than enough to worry about with our daughter and as she had a lengthy stay in hospital,i t was great to be able to pop over for a wash/freshen up. These apartments are not just for GOSH, and would be perfect for a holiday as there are so many facilities close by! there is a fab little italian resturant just beside the apartments (where our little girl pre/post op became a little celebrity!) and lovely little cafes (plus a starbucks!!!) just up the street... all in all I cannot fault the apartments in any aspect... thank you Saco :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dontgoawayalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
10
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

I decided to join my husband last minute and take advantage of a couple of nights in London. Normally would not have chosen the Holborn area to stay in, but the location could not have been better for my husband working on Chancery Lane and myself hitting the shops! Lambs Conduit St is worth a wander in itself. Apartment was a great size and comfortable to relax in after a long days shopping / day in the office! It was very useful having an on site concierge team, who continually pointed me in the right direction not knowing the area - I now know that walking to Covent Garden from the Holborn area is quicker than taking the tube! I am already looking forward to my husband's next business in London - I will definitely be joining him at Saco again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFVC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Our stay was ok. The location is great but the apartment (1 bedroom) was NOTHING like the photos on the website.

When I raised this with the office staff, they agreed and said the photos were for the 2 bedroom executive apartment and that our apartment was not like that.

I was very disappointed, having paid 580 pounds for 2 nights, for what I thought was a nice apartment. Instead, while still clean, was VERY basic and very cheaply furnished.

Recommendation: Look around

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank De_Jas_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SACOholborn, Manager at SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very sorry and disappointed to read that your experience of SACO Holborn did not live up to expectations.
We try our utmost to ensure that all our guests are comfortable throughout their stay in all of or apartments, however, clearly on this occasion it has not been the case and I do apologise. I have been in contact with SACO Marketing, who are reviewing which photos we use on the website to avoid any future confusion.
If you require accommodation in London in the future please feel free to contact me directly to discuss a rate.
I hope you were still able to enjoy your time in London.

Kind Regards,
Alex Sonnichsen
Apartment Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

We booked Saco Holborn and were blown away. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer if we could have extended our trip. Booked a 2 bed apartment and ended up staying in the penthouse apartment which was amazing, it had everything you could need and more, (Secure Parking in Central London for £15 anyone. !!!). It truly provided a home from home and was cheaper than booking 2 hotel rooms for the trip. The location is great, quiet on an evening but close to everywhere you could want to be. The Saco staff were really nice and gave the impression they would do anything to help, they truly were a great example of customer service. We will certainly be going back every time we are in London.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigB123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Our family spent one week at SACO Holborn in August 2010. We had a 5-year old and 17-year old with us, so we rented a three-bedroom apartment (which consists of a standard two-bedroom apartment and adjoining studio apartment) so parents and each of the kids could have their own sleeping quarters (and separate bathrooms, as there was one for each bedroom). A clothes washer and dryer were included in our two-bedroom unit, as well.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and well-decorated. However, the beds were too soft/springy, and the storage space for clothing was quite limited (there were more drawers in the secondary bedroom than there were in the main bedroom, and not quite enough hangers in the closets).

In addition to the bedrooms, there was a spacious living area with kitchen and dining space incorporated. We were able to entertain friends with more than enough room to spare. Our units (located on the top floor) also included very spacious balconies overlooking the street.

Internet service was £15 plus VAT for the week, which is quite reasonable. However, it is ethernet-only (with a 1-metre cable provided by SACO), with no offer of wifi. To make this more workable, we brought an Apple Airport Express with us, which created a wifi hotspot for our group to use. It would be very useful for SACO to offer wifi, or use of a simple router like the Airport Express, for guests, since most of us are using internet connections not only for laptops, but also for various mobile devices (like phones and iPods).

The location on Lamb's Conduit Street was quite nice. There is a pedestrian block just south of the apartments, which helps cut down the amount of thru traffic. Within a block are several restaurants, pubs, drycleaners, cafes, bookshops, and a park with multiple playgrounds suited for children from 2-12 (Coram's Fields). Within 6-10 blocks are two tube stations (Russell Square and Holborn), a full-service grocery store (Waitrose), the British Museum; not much further are King's Cross/St. Pancras rail stations.

The only downside to the location is that noise from the pubs/restaurants downstairs can be quite loud until midnight on Friday and Saturday (the other days of the week, it is much quieter); however, being located in the middle of a living, breathing city, this is forgivable.

The staff at SACO Holborn were quite nice and helpful. The pre-travel arrangements were efficiently handled (including special requests), and they followed through promptly on special requests during and after our stay.

Overall, we were extremely satisfied by our stay at SACO Holborn. In prior trips to London, we have stayed at top-notch hotels like the Metropolitan, One Aldwych and the Dorchester. While those full-service properties (think: room service, in-house restaurant and spa) are quite elegant, we found SACO Holborn to be much better for having a comfortable daily routine -- and for giving a family of four enough space not to always feel on top of one another. The three-bedroom rental cost barely 25% more than what we'd pay for a standard "luxury" hotel room in London. We're keeping SACO Holborn in our files for the next time we're in London -- with kids or without!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed from 30th dec to 1st Jan in a one bed appartment. Was very satisfied with the appartment. The only thing i would quibble with is that the bathroom is quite narrow and only has a shower. Liked the 'home' feel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

For us, our 1 bedroom apartment was just. O.K. The most important impression is that it was very small. I am upset when there is no space in the bedroom to put your suitcase, other than on the bed. We needed to be sideways to use the bathroom, and we are not big people. The shower, had a good step down/up to leave/enter. The kitchen/living room/eating area was one small room.

The location also was just O.K. It was centrally located, about a 20 minue walk to the theaters. It was 2 blocks from the nearest underground. In the area there are a lot of shops and a few restaurants. This was a pleasant change from the tourist areas. However, if you are going to spend your time seeing the sites in London, the most important aspect is to be near a tube station.

The apartment was clean and basically equiped. I had very limited contact with the staff, but they were very nice.

I chose this unit based upon the good Tripadvisor reviews. It was more expensive than my original budget and ended up below my expectations for the price and locaton, (even though I got a "good" price by dealing direct with the web site).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#566 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#330 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Bloomsbury
No 5 Doughty Street
No 5 Doughty Street
#376 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Rosebery Aparthotel
The Rosebery Aparthotel
#41 of 828 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Apple Apartments - The Strand
City of London
The King`s Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St

Property: SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
Address: Spens House | 72-84 Lamb's Conduit St, London WC1N 3LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 828 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco London - Holborn Hotel London
SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing