We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and great service”
Review of Grill on the Square - CLOSED

Grill on the Square
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Hythe, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I visited the Grill last September with my partner and the rest of the family after seeing a show. The food was wonderful and very reasonably priced. There is a good variety of dishes on the menu and I look forward to visiting again the next time we head up to London.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    62
    36
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Cover charge?? Nice steak though.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I visited here with another adult and a teenager. The adults had two steaks and teenager a double stack burger. The food itself was nice, but the steak was literally a steak on its own, it came with a couple of leaves of watercress. Fries were extra. For £15 they could have thrown a few chips in.....but I suppose it is London. The food was nice, but when the bill came there was a cover charge on it?! £3, not mentioned anywhere obvious on the menu, wasn't expecting it. So for that reason, sorry that was your tip! I wouldn't say don't go and eat here, just be aware they'll charge you £3 for the privilege of eating in their restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukohacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The ribs are a must have!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend as part of a family birthday trip to London. They couldn't accomodate us and our 18month old son more and were happy to cook him something plain and not off of the menu. The ribs were to die for. All of our meals were lovely. The restaurant is fun, and the toilets were spotlessly clean. We were looked after really well by all of the staff, and would definitely visit again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meals”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff with a good and reasonably priced menu. We enjoyed it so much we returned for a second visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had better for less”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

How this place continues I do not know. I can only assume it is one of those places you go to once if you forgot to read trip advisor. The service was fine though I personally felt pressure to place my order. The toilets were clean but that is where it ends. The food was complete rubbish. Calamari over cooked though the chicken wings were ok. As for the mains I think they need a lesson in seasoning! My wife's chicken skewer was just that, plain chicken with a few peppers and onions. My burger looked great in the menu, went for the chili burger. McDonald's do better! It was dry and bland the fries were greasy. I won't even mention the side of mac cheese. Yuk!!! Please beware if you visit you may well be very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigE1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill on the Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing