We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre dinner”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Ranked #2,297 of 23,211 Restaurants in London
Price range: $24 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Transit: The Botanist is ideally located for public transport. The closest tube stations are Sloane Square and Victoria and local bus routes include the 11,19,22,137,170,211,319,360,452 and C1.
Description: Situated in the heart of Chelsea on the world famous Sloane Square, The Botanist offers high quality food and drink in the most striking, yet informal setting. Open all day every day for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea, supper and Sunday roasts, we are relaxing the rules of fine dining.Named in honour of adventuring naturalist Sir Hans Sloane, the dining room is adorned with a gallery of hand painted illustrations from Sloane’s Caribbean exploration. The gleaming pewter bar is the perfect setting in which to sip on a chilled glass of champagne or be adventurous with one of our bespoke cocktails. Move into the dining room to be treated to a delectable three course lunch with dishes such as Norfolk asparagus served warm with poached hen’s egg and hollandaise and Fresh water crayfish tagliatelle, chilli, crab bisque and sorrel cream to tantalise your taste buds. Alternatively indulge in a delectable afternoon tea with our homemade scones and Preston Hall jams.The elegant surroundings of The Botanist provide the perfect retreat for that relaxed pre-shopping brunch or that long over due catch-up with friends or family.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We came to the botanist last week just before visiting the Royal Court Theatre. We found the bar are a bit too busy but we could only imagine thats the sign of a bar thats producing a high standard of drinks! We tasted a few of the cocktails before sitting down which were simply divine. My husband had to order me a second as i polished my "Rose petal" off in seconds. We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff at the front desk and were quickly seated. Our table was at the back of the restaurant, which was slightly quieter and met our needs perfectly. Our waiter 'Brett' greeted us with a beaming smile We ordered the soup and both had the schnitzel. Our waiter was informative and charming, it was loveley to recieve such a warm welcome and such delicious food. The evening was a huge success and my husbands birthday

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fizzle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Events Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Glad to hear you had a lovely time. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
There are newer reviews for The Botanist
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 533 of 816 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Always a great place to go to. Can get very busy and hard to talk but great service, food excellent and bar service super if you can get to it. I visit often and aways enjoy the atmosphere there

Thank Juliette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booked a table at very short notice. We received a warm reception upon arrival and we were well looked after thoughout our meal. The food was great. We all (5 of us) had different choices and everyone enjoyed their meals. Bit pricey, but worth it. Will add it to our list of places to revisit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hjh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The service in this establishment is in dire need of an overhaul. Tonight's experience started badly and got a lot worse.

On arriving at the restaurant we were confronted with a security guard who took the name our table was booked under, walked off and then returned to stand beside us - but completely ignored us!

The waiter was offhand from the outset and obviously way more interested in devoting his attention to the women at the next table to the detriment of all the other guests on his station. Ordering was an unpleasant experience and every step in the next two hours required prompting eg empty plates left for nearly 30 minutes after we finished the main course (a similar experience for the couple at the next table).

No one asked how our food was at any point. In fact, it was rather salty but actually the highlight of the evening despite the salmon fishcake being literally that, a single fish cake 7cm across in the middle of a huge white plate.

By the time we got to dessert any attempt at service had ended and were astounded to discover that the sorbet consisted of one tiny scoop in a battered metal bowl with a very large spoon.

Needless to say getting our assigned waiter to show any interest in producing a bill was an impossibility.

To make matters worse, on complaining to the manager we got the distinct impression that we were wasting our time.

I ate at this restaurant eight weeks ago and recommended it to my colleagues based on that experience. Sadly the standard of service has plummeted since then to the point of ruining an important evening with business associates.

Recommendation to The Botanist management: Fire the waiter!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We were so sorry to hear you had this experience at The Botanist. We always aim to offer excellence service and food, however clearly we did not deliver on this occasion. We would really like to get in touch with you regarding this. Please do contact me on Karen@etmgroup.co.uk or 020 7242 9122, Best wishes, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent place to relax and catch up with friends. Drinks are not too expensive and staff very friendly.

Thank Special_Kay_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Events Manager at The Botanist, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Glad to hear you had a lovely time. Please do come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing