We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of CityStay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CityStay Hotel
Ranked #966 of 1,068 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed one night to attend an Olympic event and it was fantastic! My room was spotless and I had a great nights sleep. All the fixtures looked new and was in perfect working order. I had one of the downstairs rooms which has a en-suite. The bus stop is right across the road and so is Co-op store that's open 24/7. The railway station is next to the hotel and on the other side there is a ATM. The staff are helpful and could tell me which buses and taxis go to stratford station and the Olympic park etc. There was also free WIFI which was really handy. The room was small but it had everything I needed, I can't believe the value for money at this hotel! I will definitely be staying there again in the future

Room Tip: If you don't want a shared bathroom ask for a room downstairs, they're en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandergirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    77
    35
    45
See reviews for
36
109
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for business locally, this hotel has new carpets, comfy clean beds, towels changed daily, great fully stocked kitchen, it is clean and pleasant. The staff are helpful but not intrusive. Will definitely stay again. Thankyou :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The staff was very kind. The hotel was near the underground (2-3 minutes walking). The room was very clean. Customers can use the kitchen. In our case we used it for breakfast and dinner time. Very good hotel and very good option if you want to save money. 100% recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank J. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

For those planning to attend the Olympics in 2012, this place is very close to the Olympic Park, and also next to the Bow Road Station on the District Line for the Underground as well as the DLR (light rail station), and just a few meters from the bus stop you can use to get to the city center. CityStay Hotel popped up when I did a search on Kayak.com for a hotel in London, and this came up as one of the cheapest for two people (at about 50GBP) for mid-June. That was equivalent to and even cheaper than some hostels, and we wanted something more secure for our luggage during the day.

Our first impression was a little disappointing, as the neighborhood did look a bit suspicious (as other reviewers have mentioned). This never became a problem later and we had no problems walking around in the area. The desk is staffed 24 hours a day and a key is given to enter the front door. One of the clerks was not overly friendly, but another was more helpful. Other hotel staff were friendlier when helping us to our room and bringing towels, which was in an adjoining building, and, yes -- you do have to exit and go up what used to be a fire escape to get there!

The hallways were narrow as were the stairs, so you will have some problems if you have very large luggage to carry up the stairs. I don't know if the rooms on the lower floors in the front are as new as the rooms in the adjoining building in the back.

The room was comfortably sized (about 5 meters x 5meters), and had two windows which opened We had the shared bathroom down the hall which is shared by the three rooms there. The bathroom was large and had been newly renovated (new toilet, sink and shower), though some wallpaper was in need of replacement in the shower stall. Wi-Fi is available and free, and the connection was good.

The kitchen was very nice with new equipment (new refrigerator, gas stovetop, sink, microwave) and new kitchenware and utensils (several sizes of pots and pans, frying pans, tableware, and cooking utensils). It was stocked with cups, mugs, plates, bowls, but there was only salt and sugar and some (probably leftover) instant coffee. The refrigerator was clean -- as though it had been installed only a couple of months ago, and had barely been used by others.

Carpeting in the hallways was new, the mattress was new and quite good. There was a 32" HDTV, a folding couch that could be converted into a bed for an additional 2 people, a low glass table with stools for sitting next to (the stools were not very comfortable), and a fan. To hang up your clothes and outerware, there was a standing clothes rack -- there was no closet.

We did not have the breakfast, since we went to the 24-hour convenience store (The Co-operative Food store) across the street to buy some snacks, drinks, as well as dinner, which we cooked in the kitchen.

There was construction going on all night somewhere on the block (this was June 21-24) and made it difficult to sleep. The room we had was in the back, so it was away from the Bow Road traffic noise. The construction noise down the block was probably worse since it went on all night when we were trying to sleep.

The room key and lock is not very secure. However, there is an additional door with a better lock that prevents entry into the group of three rooms.

You can take a guided walking tour to the Olympic Park (9 GBP), however they have stopped all tours within the park since it is close to the start of the Olympics. They may open up the walking tours inside after the Olympics. For now, the best view you can get is from the third floor of the John Lewis Department store at the Westfield Mall. They have set up a viewing area with binoculars and lots of Olympic paraphernalia for sale.

I am not sure how expensive other nearby locations will be during the Olympics, but since this place was a bargain before, it may well be a bargain for those looking for a place close to the Olympic Park during the games. If you plan to stay for a few days, the kitchen makes it very economical and convenient to make your own meals and keep snacks.

If you have an early flight, you should check the time of the earliest underground train. We had to use the buses to make our connection to the EasyBus bus stop in Earls Court for our flight out of Luton, since the tube was not running that early on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are away from Bow Road noise (but there was nearby construction noise when we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Rooms are quite small, and .. IN the street. Quite a big street by the way, so the first ambulance will sounds like 3rd world war.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Simone_469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I particularly like the kitchen because we are free to cook our meal at time of the day either with oven, micro wave oven or gas. It is ver convenient. However the supply of food for breakfast should be more consistent .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We just returned from this "hotel." While we have no real complaints, we spent very little time in the room. Be aware that there are no elevators in the hotel so we had to drag our large suitcases up several flights of stairs, including a fire escape connecting the two buildings making up the hotel. The rooms and common areas were clean and appeared recently renovated. The front desk staff was friendly enough, but do not expect any type of concierge or tourist information services from the staff. We were able to store our luggage with the front desk staff during our last day in London after check out at no cost, which was very convenient. Our room was simple was simple with just a bed and nightstand but some of the other rooms that we viewed contained kitchenettes and larger common areas. Again, the room was very clean and modern and was serviced by housekeeping each day with fresh towels. We didn't take advantage of the shared kitchen since we were always on the go in the mornings. The area surrounding the hotel is slightly sketchy and doesn't offer many food options but there is a convenience store directly across the street. There are several subway stations within walking distance to the hotel (Bow Road and Mile End), but expect the commute into central London to take at least 30 minutes. Overall, the hotel satisfactorily served it's purpose for us... a place to sleep, shower, and safely store our luggage. Due to its distance from the city center, it is not ideal for those travelers who expect to go back and forth to the hotel throughout the day. Next time we visit London, we would likely opt for a more centrally located hotel, but we are generally satisfied with our stay at this hotel during our most recent visit.

Room Tip: If you expect to have larger/heavier suitcases, try to request a room on one of the lower floors in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meistror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#710 of 1,068 in London
137 reviews
Viking Hotel
#819 of 1,068 in London
656 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#719 of 1,068 in London
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#591 of 1,068 in London
155 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#472 of 1,068 in London
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityStay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityStay Hotel

Property: CityStay Hotel
Address: 94 Bow Road, London E3 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #966 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CityStay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the CityStay Hotel offers easy walking access to many local amenities i.e. Pubs, clubs, Parks, Shopping and easy access to airports and train links. On arrival at the CityStay Hotel you can start to enjoy the relaxed in our informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your CityStay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CityStay Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing