We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummylicious”

The Hummingbird Bakery
Ranked #17 of 278 Bakeries in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Yummylicious”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Have visited nearly all the branches for Hummingbird Bakery around London, but the one on Portbello market has been my all time favorite. This particular branch is best for takeaways as there is no much of a seating in there. Red velvet cupcake should not be missed !

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akshasarang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    123
    33
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steeple Ashton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Red Velvet cup cakes delicious!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We loved the Red Velvet Cupcakes and decided to also take some home..... these were packaged in a Hummingbird box and pretty carrier so made a nice gift for my daughter.

Good coffee and we loved looking at all the other cakes.

Thank you!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great cupcakes”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have only visited the Spitalfields branch, which there doesnt seem to be a record for on here, but the cakes are amazing!! Red Velvet one of my favourite. Cool and funky inside too.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Essex111983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Worst Customer Service Imaginable”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I almost never write a review but I have to say the customer service at the Humming bird Bakery is the ABSOLUTE WORST I have ever experienced. A friend ordered a cake to be delivered for my 40th birthday.

On the day, they claimed there was no one available to receive the order when they tried to deliver; however they failed to use the number that was given at the time of the order. The delivery man claimed he had left a message. Of course no message was left. Hummingbird refused to accept that this happened, obviously thinking I was lying. Their suggestion was that I had to collect the cake from their nearest branch and if I wanted it redelivered, it would cost a further £7.50.

They ruined my birthday and have been absolutely unapologetic, do not use them for delivery unless you enjoy paying quite a lot of money to deal with problems, waiting on hold (have spent hours on the phone trying to deal with this) and have time for lack of customer service.

Pick up for the cakes if fine, but to be honest after this experience I don't feel I want to give Hummingbird Bakery any further business.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vals552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just wonderful... the original and the best”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I love The Hummingbird Bakery and own all their books as well as having eaten many, many, many of their cupcakes. Including my fair share of a huge order of cupcakes for my wedding. Proper American cupcakes, the way god intended them. Just go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MattJGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hummingbird Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Hummingbird Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing