We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disppointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patisserie Valerie - Charing Cross

Patisserie Valerie - Charing Cross
Ranked #125 of 282 Bakeries in London
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
818 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“What a disppointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I went into the Patisserie Valerie in the Charing Cross Road at around 11:00 AM for a double Espresso and a croissant. They managed to get two things wrong out of two. They had no croissants and when the coffee came it was lukewarm.

The food looked attractive but the man who served me was decidedly chilly...as was the coffee. To be fair the coffee was replaced without demur and, when it came, it was hot...and the waitress was friendly. Maybe I caught the man at a bad time.

I pass the café frequently, but have been rather put off from going there again as there are many friendly coffee shops in that area..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    54
    29
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Nice pastries, shame about the staff!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great selection of goodies, very tasty. The staff aren't up to much. Obviously they are always full, it's a busy time in a busy place. Don't expect "Have a nice day!" They can't be bothered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funlovinfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stopped in here for a quick lunch. We had a lovely window table so plenty of people watching. The sndwiches and cake were absolutely delicious and the staff attentive.
Would definately visit again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Starider1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and cramped with it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ate here for lunch yesterday. I decided on a Croque Monsieur and L wanted a BLT with no mayonnaise. We were hungry after the all the art so we knew we had room for the great looking cakes!

However, my lunch arrived with the comment that they'd made a mistake on L's and it would be along later. I waited for L's food to arrive...always think it rude to eat alone! By the time L's sandwiches arrived my food had gone cold and past its best. L's food was nothing to write home about - couldn't really taste the bacon.

When we had finished no-one made any effort to up-sell us some cake so after paying £19 we went elsewhere. This restaurant is very cramped and not very friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DocSleaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“OK for a snack....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had some lovely cakes and coffees at this restaurant. Couldn't fault either. The place is rammed with tables and it is a squeeze to get into some chairs, so not the place to relax for an hour. Staff could be more welcoming and look like they care. Recommended for tea/coffee and a cake, but not to linger.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie - Charing Cross also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Valerie - Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing