We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Chinese food”
Review of My Old Place

My Old Place
Ranked #2,792 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Traditional Chinese food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great food - the place was populated with Chinese people which to me is always an indication that the food is authentic! Good prices and good service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kassemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    109
    24
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authenic Chinese Food - Unfriendly Service :(”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've passed this restaurant dozens of times but finally found my way inside for lunch. The menu is the real deal if you want authenic Chinese food. Lots of unmentionable parts of the pig are on offer. Lungs, intestines, ears...etc. My son and I opted for the vegetable spring rolls (very safe option). Then people at the adjoining table were having spicy green beans with bits of chlli and pork. So we ordered this which was fabulous !!! Then an order of beef with peppers and black bean sauce along with a bowl of steamed rice. x2 diet cokes and the bill was £25.50. Not cheap cheap but just about right. They are open everyday except Christmas so I'll be back soon !!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodilovesamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rare Gem of authentic Chinese food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent restaurant with really nice authentic food near Liverpool Street Stn. Lots of Chinese customers which is always a good sign. Most items are a bit spicy but you can ask the staff to make it less spicy.
Try the dumplings!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculous Service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is claimed to be the best Chinese restaurant in London. The food is tasty but the service could be the worst in London. I visited this restaurant for more than five times, just because the food was great and the service was ok. However the last time the service was so awful that finally led me to a full stop. There was a boy from north-east China whose attitude was absolutely disrespectful. When ordering, he directly used his pen to point the item he was refering to while I was turning pages. He showed absolutely no patience as if he would die if we did not finish ordering right away. What's more rediculous was when he found the kitchen delivering a lamb barbecue dish while he actually forgot that the dish was ordered by us: he literally ate them all!!! We are absolutely stunned.

So, you have been warned.

Helpful?
Thank Bowei X
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“authentic chinese food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went there twice during my 5-day stay in London.Food taste very authentic (I'm from mainland China). Especially bbq lamb sticks and beef in hotpot soup. All my non-Chinese friends love it and they will return!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank YangCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Old Place also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to My Old Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing