We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great...”

The Four Sisters Townhouse
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
Ranked #5,281 of 28,447 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Like the private residence of your eccentric great Aunt, Townhouse is the kind of place you might find in some darkly Dickensian adventure, somewhere between the old curiosity shop and a sumptuous Victorian gentleman’s club.
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

So, this bar looks the part, it’s decor is fun and quirky, but that’s where the praise ends. The seats are some of the most uncomfortable I’ve ever experienced- the are all rock hard. I was expecting a chilled townhouse vibe - something like the Zetter, but the music was loud, europop and we had to shout to hear each other. Only two items were available from the food menu- and maybe they are trying to be quirky, but the £20 cheeseboard came with dry Jacobs crackers! The cocktails actually tasted pretty good, but with so many amazing bars in London I’d definitely give this one a miss.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSistersBar, Owner at The Four Sisters Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Hi Ellie,

Firstly let us thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate each and every one as they allow us great insight and to change and adapt as a business based on the feedback we receive. We have noted your comments and thank you again for the feedback.

Please also note that if you would ever want the music lowered, please do not hesitate to ask a member of staff.

Kind Regards,

The Four Sisters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2019

After checking the website and the good reviews decided to book a table to go for drinks with a very good friend. On the web page you can see nice photos of the cocktails and there are also good pictures of snacks and food you can order. When arrived there on Wednesday at 7PM was told that the kitchen was closed and that the only food/snacks alternative were nachos and a cheese board......the issue is that there was no indication when making the booking that ktichen was going to be closed, hence I felt mislead by their page and information. Would have booked another place.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Varito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSistersBar, Owner at The Four Sisters Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Hi Varito,

Firstly let us thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate feedback such as this as it allows us to improve as a company. We would like to apologise for the inaccurate information on the website, this is an area we are currently working on updating so the information is 100% accurate but as I'm sure you can understand it takes time to make these updates. We recently just introduced our new menu and this is the reason the information was not up to date on our site.

Again thank you for the feedback and we assure you we will endeavour to update the site asap.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Four Sisters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful small hidden venue , would totally recommend for after work drinks. Not too loud so you can talk and catch up whilst sipping on some beautiful cocktails .

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MissSparkle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSistersBar, Owner at The Four Sisters Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Hi MissSparkle82,

Thank you for the fantastic review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Four Sisters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

This is a beautifully decorated bar, bursting with character and old fashioned glamour. Perfect for a catch up with friends or a date. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The service was quick and the drinks were lovely. I will definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Stella4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSistersBar, Owner at The Four Sisters Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hi Stella4747,

Thank you very much for this very kind review. We are delighted to hear everything was enjoyable from start to finish. We endeavor to provide an excellent service so it is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Four Sisters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2019

The Zetter-style look and the hideaway location are all a con! It's a city pub with city pub clientele. That's not to say it's bad - it's loud and brash and friendly. But cosy and cocktaily and intimate it is not. The staff are nice. The drinks are unremarkable. A disappointment.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank festus2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFourSistersBar, Owner at The Four Sisters Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Hi festus2019,

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate each and every one. I am sorry to read about your disappointment when you visited our establishment. Perhaps the night of your visit was a particularly busy one, hopefully, you decide to give us a second chance sometime as I'm sure your opinion will change.

Thank you again and hopefully, we see you again some time.

Kind Regards,

The Four Sisters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Four Sisters Townhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Four Sisters Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing