We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to Southwark instead!”

Vapiano - Great Portland Street
Ranked #1,843 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Laid back, buzzy restaurant, loved for it's freshly made pasta, pizza and salad dishes. Pick up a card on the way in, choose your dish from the counters and watch it made in front of you. Pay on the way out
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Go to Southwark instead!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having been to the Southwark Vapiano a couple of times, and having been very impressed, we decided to try the GPS branch, but were disappointed!
The food is more or less the same but not quite as good quality on this occasion, perhaps due to the business of the restaurant. The concept is good- load purchases onto a card, pay at the end and chose your food at stations and the pasta is cooked in front of your eyes.
The tables are rather strange- most seat 6/8 which I found annoying as it was getting busy and some had to share.
The service was the main fault- absolutely dreadful and plain rude. Staff were uninterested, and didnt care at all for the customers.
We wouldnt go back, but I would recommend the Southwark branch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    312
    91
    35
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal at Vapiano have been here a few times and gave enjoyed it each time. I like that you go get what you want and I like the credit card system it has (you get a plastic card and it gets totalled at the end) We had the antipasti, pasta and panacotta with drinks for 3 of us was £42 which I thought was very good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jellybaby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for dinner and were very pleased we did. the food was great and affordable for London. The service was good and everyone always seemed to have a smile on their face.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourguiderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great Atmosphere, good food, nice for a quick snack, Salad was amazing, "own Tab" great idea,
busy most of the time please expect to wait, worth the wait, would recommend for light lunch or evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

House red wine is the best I've had in a long time. Atmosphere was great and staff was nice. Only problem I had was when we were finally hungry I had to wait in line for nearly 30mins for food which meant my friend was sat alone at the table. Food was really great but would prefer to have waited at the table while it was being cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bridget782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano - Great Portland Street also viewed

 

Been to Vapiano - Great Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing