We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripped off when purchasing a round of drinks, management don't care about complaint either” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babble Mayfair

Babble Mayfair
Ranked #12,857 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $48 - $64
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Mayfair
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ripped off when purchasing a round of drinks, management don't care about complaint either”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Went Babble for some birthday drinks. Bought two rounds of pornstar martini a costing £100 however waiter served us the wrong drinks and charged for pornstar martini. I hadn't had one before so didn't know what to expect until we saw the menu later and we had been given a cheaper substitute. Management didn't care about my complaint either. I'm just another number to them. Bar staff were rude and arrogant and the bouncers were looking for fights, someone to beat up. Saw severL innocent people get manhandles by them. DONT GO TO BABBLE - go somewhere else instead!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gurdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbleMayfair, Guest Relations Manager at Babble Mayfair, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Gurdos,

I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing evening. This is something we take seriously and we are taking relevant action to prevent such occurrences happening again.

Please get in touch with me to discuss your complaint further. You can email me at info@babble-bar.co.uk and I will get back to you as soon as possible with some answers.

Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    11
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok venue appalling toilet service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

went to babble with family and friends. decent prices and ok venue but my boyfriend and father both had very strange experiences in the toilet. the attendant was extremely rude to one of them for not carrying change and told him to come back to pay (seriously??) and the other one was given a business card, advertising nothing other than a prostitution agency... is this even legal??
will not be going back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbleMayfair, Guest Relations Manager at Babble Mayfair, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Heidi,

Thank you for leaving your feedback – we take all feedback very seriously and we apologise for the disappointing visit you had.

We have undertaken a full investigation with the toilet attendant, as this is behaviour we certainly do not condone.

In the meantime, could you please contact us on 02077588255 so we might speak further on the matter?

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Babble Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“FUN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Been to Babble a few times, and have had a great time, the food is nice. they have mini burgers, prawns etc, nice cocktails too especially peach belini i think! And a nice mix of music to get you up and dancing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicolina_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbleMayfair, Guest Relations Manager at Babble Mayfair, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Nicolina,

Many thanks for your positive feedback about Babble Mayfair,

As a little thank you I would love to invite you back to enjoy a complimentary table, subject to availability.
Should you wish to take me up on this offer then please call 0207 7588255 and we will arrange the rest.

Kind Regards,
Babble Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will not return !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Oh dear where do I start ..... Organised our work Xmas party through a third party website (bad mistake) at this place .... Although the venue is nice, location is good and is a buzzy atmosphere the service is shocking .... We had the wrong food menu on the night, I had orders the hot buffet and champagne and canopies reception but we only got the champagne, then was told what the third party had arranged food wise was not available ... Party of 31 very disappointed a lot had not eaten and were looking forward to the menu, the atmosphere downstairs was dry and only started getting buzzy when the DJ played some good music ... When we first asked there wasn't even gunna be a DJ there they managed to find one from somewhere but considering it was a Xmas party this should be standard ..... All in all not worth the money paid .. We are a very well know company and I arrange all the events... This will never be on my list of great venues to come back to !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KThandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbleMayfair, Guest Relations Manager at Babble Mayfair, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear KThandi,

Thank you for leaving your feedback – we take all feedback very seriously and we apologise for the disappointing visit you had.

We have undertaken a full investigation with the third party, as it was the miscommunication between us and them that meant you did not receive the food you so wished. I thoroughly apologise that this was not ever reiterated to you.

In the meantime, could you please contact us on 02077588255 so we might speak further on the matter?

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So easy to get it right but they miss the point”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Babble could be very good. The structure and interior are nice and somewhat modern.
Pros
Decent club space for dancing.
Bartenders and wait staff are attentive and helpful.

Cons
The bathroom attendants are pushy and rude if you don't pay them for each time you use the toilet. By the way, the soap is watered down fairy liquid.
The food was all deep fat fried and like napalm.
The bouncers are hyperactive and chucked people out of the club when people weren't really doing anything offensive.
Don't think I would go back or recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevenoaksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbleMayfair, Guest Relations Manager at Babble Mayfair, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear SevenOaksMum,

Thank you for leaving your feedback – we take all feedback very seriously and we apologise for the disappointing visit you had.

We have undertaken a full investigation with the toilet attendants and door staff as this is not something we condone here.

In the meantime, could you please contact us on 02077588255 so we might speak further on the matter?

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Babble Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babble Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to Babble Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing