We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat”
Review of Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea
Ranked #339 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $100
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: A British institution in itself, Tea at The Ritz is proud to be a member of the Tea Council's prestigious Tea Guild. Served in the spectacular Palm Court, a choice of several varieties of tea, finely cut sandwiches, freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream and a range of delicate pastries, combine to make for an unforgettable afternoon. The luxurious and graceful setting of The Ritz Palm Court is legendary and this is most certainly an opportunity that must be experienced, whether you are visiting London or already live there. Reflecting the elegant nature of the hotel's architecture The Ritz London has a dress code in different areas of the hotel as follows: Gentlemen are required to wear a jacket and tie for afternoon tea in The Palm Court and for lunch and dinner in The Ritz Restaurant. In all other areas of the hotel (The Ritz Restaurant breakfast service, The Rivoli Bar, The Long Gallery) and The Ritz Club, smart casual attire is suitable. Please note that trainers or sportswear are not permitted in any of the hotel or Club's restaurants or bars.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have just had my 1st afternoon tea at the Ritz. Having afternoon tea is one of my very favourite pastimes so going to the Ritz was very much a treat.. I was not disappointed, service great, tea room, just beautiful, lovely atmosphere, the most beautiful scones, certainly came out feeling full, a perfect way to spend a afternoon..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,818
    508
    309
    162
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Glamour”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very eligant. Bone china cups and saucers. A little expensive but we had scones as well and they were the lightest ive ever tried.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank johny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I always heard wonderful words about this experience so expectations were really high. From the minute we stepped in the magic began. It has been without any doubt one of the best experience of my life. Food, place, service, price everything was simply perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked the celebration tea as a surprise for my Mum's 63rd birthday. The experience of 'dressing up' for afternoon tea was a delight, and how beautiful everyone looked. On arrival we waited a short time in the parlour prior to being seated and this gave us opportunity to take some photographs at the entrance.

Shortly after being seated we were served our glass of champagne which was delicious. The food was delightful with petite crustless sandwiches - where do all the crusts go? - a selection for each person and refills if you wish during the time. Next to arrive were fluffy warm scones, plain and fruit, ready to be spread with the clotted cream and jam fresh on the table, further followed by a choice of individual trifles, lemon drizzle cake or black forest gateau. A large selection of tea varieties - we chose Ritz Royal English which was very tasty and refreshed and refilled often.

Highlight for us was the arrival of part of the Celebration package in the form of a large chocolate mousse cake, complete with 1 x candle and iced with 'Happy Birthday Mum', accompanied by the resident pianist playing 'Happy Birthday'. Truly delightful. The cake was packaged in a box ready for transport home later.

The experience is a little pricey at £67 per person for the celebration package, but worth every penny just to hear my wonderful Mum telling all who asked that she had been for 'Tea at the Ritz' for her birthday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MitzilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A recommended experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The food was excellent and there was definitely enough (actually too much)! I stated that I was vegetarian when I made the reservation and was pleasantly surprised when they brought out my own plate of sandwiches that they created especially for me. They constantly top-up the sandwiches.

You need to book months in advance as it is so popular. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and is a perfect gift for someone.

It is £45 per person for a full afternoon tea. It is more if you want champagne with it

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing