We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Trip to London's Tea at the Ritz”
Review of Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea
Ranked #338 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $100
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: A British institution in itself, Tea at The Ritz is proud to be a member of the Tea Council's prestigious Tea Guild. Served in the spectacular Palm Court, a choice of several varieties of tea, finely cut sandwiches, freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream and a range of delicate pastries, combine to make for an unforgettable afternoon. The luxurious and graceful setting of The Ritz Palm Court is legendary and this is most certainly an opportunity that must be experienced, whether you are visiting London or already live there. Reflecting the elegant nature of the hotel's architecture The Ritz London has a dress code in different areas of the hotel as follows: Gentlemen are required to wear a jacket and tie for afternoon tea in The Palm Court and for lunch and dinner in The Ritz Restaurant. In all other areas of the hotel (The Ritz Restaurant breakfast service, The Rivoli Bar, The Long Gallery) and The Ritz Club, smart casual attire is suitable. Please note that trainers or sportswear are not permitted in any of the hotel or Club's restaurants or bars.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Trip to London's Tea at the Ritz”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had to have a complimentry meal . I went for a cold drink and a ourself newspaper

It was fantastic!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,819
    511
    310
    162
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the right footwear”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My sister was in London for the first time in her 67 th year She has always wanted to see the RItz hotel and enjoy a cup of tee in the magnificant interior. Unfortunately
we were not allowed to stay due to the fact that my sister was wearing the "wrong shoes".She has to wear special shoes due to a condition of her.What a shame!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An unfortgetable special treat”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had Champagne Afternoon Tea at The Ritz in December as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations. The hotel was beautifully decked out for Christmas and looked every bit as lush and elegant as you would expect.

The tea is served in the Palm Court and is generally delicious as with most high quality afternoon teas in the top London hotels. The service was of course excellent, with immaculate waiters that were friendly and knowledgeable (though perhaps not quite as knowledgeable as those at The Dorchester, who are incredible).

You will not leave hungry from afternoon tea! Sandwiches, petit fours, scones, gateaux...the food just keeps coming.

This is the perfect treat for a special birthday, anniversary or perhaps Mother's Day. It is guaranteed to be remembered and you will feel extremely relaxed and special throughout your stay. Everyone should treat themselves to this at least once.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victorianunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea in elegant surroundings”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We had the evening sitting which felt relaxed and unrushed.
There was plenty to eat, attentive waiters who made it feel like we ate there every day. The tea selection was wide ranging, heavy silver teapots adding to the older world charm.
There was a string and piano ensemble playing, this added to the atmosphere although they didn't seem to be there until the end.
The dress code meant that people did dress up which made it all the more special.
All in all this was a very lovely treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liffdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Glad I have been to the Ritz but I wont rush back!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to The Ritz at the end of November for our traditional "Christmas Tea in London". I was with five friends. I have to say the Christmas decorations were out of this world and the Hotel looked beautiful. The tea was in itself very nice, the sandwiches and cakes delicious but I felt that the experience was let down by the service.

At the end of our tea, when we had all eaten quite enough, we asked if they would kindly box the remaining cakes so that we could take them with us. Something that is quite commonly done in 5* hotels in London now. We were told quite "sniffily" that this was not possible. Upon asking why we were told that it was due to "Health & Safety"!! I cannot understand how The Ritz can't do this and yet afternoon tea establishments of equal repute, can and do.

They did however box a birthday cake for us to take which did not seem to contravene their H&S rules!

The Ritz is an experience, I am glad that we went. I have though had better teas and much better service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaloverEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing