We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Champagne Christmas afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea at the Ritz

Tea at the Ritz
Ranked #298 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $62 - $95
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: A British institution in itself, Tea at The Ritz is proud to be a member of the Tea Council's prestigious Tea Guild. Served in the spectacular Palm Court, a choice of several varieties of tea, finely cut sandwiches, freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream and a range of delicate pastries, combine to make for an unforgettable afternoon. The luxurious and graceful setting of The Ritz Palm Court is legendary and this is most certainly an opportunity that must be experienced, whether you are visiting London or already live there. Reflecting the elegant nature of the hotel's architecture The Ritz London has a dress code in different areas of the hotel as follows: Gentlemen are required to wear a jacket and tie for afternoon tea in The Palm Court and for lunch and dinner in The Ritz Restaurant. In all other areas of the hotel (The Ritz Restaurant breakfast service, The Rivoli Bar, The Long Gallery) and The Ritz Club, smart casual attire is suitable. Please note that trainers or sportswear are not permitted in any of the hotel or Club's restaurants or bars.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Champagne Christmas afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having been for tea at the Ritz on a previous occasion and thoroughly enjoying it, I was excited to take my husband for the first time for his 50th birthday treat. I was especially looking forward to the decor and the choir as well as the glass of champagne of course!
We were not disappointed and the Palm Court looked beautiful in its red and gold finery for Christmas. There was a huge Christmas tree in the main foyer and other trees dotted around.
As expected the sandwiches were delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the selection offered which were replenished as requested. We were treated to 4 mouth watering scones which were the best I have ever had, with plenty of jam and clotted cream. They were served warm.
We had the choice of a large tea menu and my husband chose the darjeeling and another speciality tea whereas I chose the Royal tea.
After the sandwiches and scones there was a choice of cakes and then some warm mince pies. Finally we were offered a special Christmas cake or a apple frangipane tart. All of this was washed down with a very moreish glass of Champagne. Neither of us went away hungry and in fact couldn't eat another thing for the rest of the day!
The choir was sang for possibly 45 minutes or so was a very nice touch and made the whole occasion very Christmassy and special.
Although expensive at £60 a head I can honestly say that I feel it was worth every penny and will hopefully be returning next year!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunnyhand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,786
    494
    299
    156
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
230 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent but make sure you use a voucher!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

A great experience and a must do for all who live in or visit London. I truly enjoyed it and have been two or three times now but I would stress the requirement to use one of the vouchers that you can get these days in order to reduce the impact on the pocket. At the regular price I feel it is extortionate but with a voucher it is a wonderful day out.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Little Luxury, why not :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I went for Afternoon Tea at the Ritz with my sisters in November 2012. We had booked a number of months before the event (goodness me it was hard to find a slot before 7pm most days!!) and were quite excited. Having been directed to the right door (there's always one!!) we walked through a tastefully decorated corridor into an open space outside of the Palm Court where afternoon tea is served. We arrived a little early and the staff member at the entrance to the Palm Court showed us where we could be seated until it was time for tea to be served. We placed our coats in the cloakroom before making our way to the powder room. As you would expect from a hotel of this calibre, the powder room and the cloak room (to a degree) were well thought out spaces that were commensurate with the hotel's location.

We were only sitting down in the lobby for a little while when we noticed other people entering the Court and so we followed suite. The staff were well turned out and very attentive. The decor of the room is lovely, a fantastic chandelier on an ornate ceiling and a water feature by which we were seated. We were provided with the tea menu and the format of the afternoon was explained to us. The teas were excellent - as was everything! The sandwiches were good (extras were brought to us as our plates emptied) and the scones were absolutely lovely!! None of us like fruit scones and so we requested plain scones only - this request was accommodated. We were not brought extra scones like we were with the sandwiches but as well as the cakes on the cake tier, a trolley came round from which we were able to select either lemon cake or carrot cake.
We had heard that photography needed to be discrete and so we decided to wait and observe before taking any photos. I saw a couple of flashes going off and so I decided to take a few photographs too - staff offered to take photos for us which was really nice.

The staff were wonderful and FYI - to our surprise, no service charge was added to our bill!

I'd definitely recommend a visit!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayothamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow, what an experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The service was excellent, the food even better & no rushing, & far too much food for us to eat which was a shame as it was so scrummy !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wen078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor quality in this class.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Tea at those places charging £40 per head and above should be exemplary. London is blessed with many such venues. Unfortunately, The Ritz is a pale shadow of what it once was and the poor quality of its food inexcusable.
We took tea at 1.30 pm just before Christmas. There was nothing to fault with the decoration, though one sensed it was big and blousey in a attempt to woo overseas customers rather than the reserved home paying guests. The whole tea experience was rushed leaving us in no doubt many, many others were having to be catered for and woe betide anyone who dared to linger too long. Sandwiches were well below standard. Cheap, tasteless cheddar cheese and thick, fatty smoked salmon were encased in tired bread which had obviously been made well in advance. One does not expect to find bread which is beginning to curl because of its age or the length of time it has been exposed to the air. Pastries were so awful we left the majority of them. They were distinctly tired and unappealing. The scones were good except for the lack of uniform fruit. The jam accompanying them was gelatinous and of cheap quality. The teas were fine, but then so they should be in this kind of establishment. The least said about a lemon drizzle cake and a hazelnut tart the better. The pastry chef here needs to go back to school.
Service was unrefined with one exception. Staff really should be a cut above in these places but sadly they were not on the occasion of our visit. And lastly, I do not expect to be presented with a bill when our reservation clearly indicates our tea has been per bought as a gift. That,s sloppy.
Claridges has nothing to fear from The Ritz. Tea at Claridges is altogether a much more refined experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea at the Ritz also viewed

 

Been to Tea at the Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing