We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De La Panza - CLOSED

De La Panza
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: De La Panza, which literally translated means ‘all about the belly’, is a new Buenos Aires Bodegón-style restaurant in De Beauvoir, London N1, serving Argentine beef cooked on a charcoal grill, and a Spanish tapas menu together with great wines.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Amazing Argentinian Steaks and treats. For all the sweet tooths out there you must try their pancake dessert (Panqueques) you wont be disappointed The service was exceptional and the wine selection was great. All in all great experience and highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty steak but only for a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

De la Panza serves delicious steak and Argentinian treats. The service and atmosphere are warm and the wine selection is also great. It is however, a bit on the pricey side and so perhaps best for special occasions, although they do a good tapas deal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myara21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly stuffed after another delicious steak at our fave local Argentinian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We always have the Parallida (spelling?) which is a hot plate of steak, grilled veg, provolone cheese, morcilla and chorizo for 2 people. I don't usually like chorizo but this stuff is different and delist. Haven't been for a few weeks and this dish has definitely got bigger, they've added Argentinian short ribs to it much to my boyfriend's delight. Meal for 2 greedy people inc beers came to £60. Quality is excellent and they had a singer and guitarist performing some fantastic music. An authentic bodega atmosphere for a very reasonable price on our doorstep, fabulous!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danihart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything which can go wrong...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit, and service is still poor.
However, the food was also disappointing this time.

All employees just seem quite absent-minded.

The simple things:
Empty bottles were left on our table for ages, they served food before we had plates or cutlery, they didn't check if we'd like a water refill or any more drinks.

Then, the 'hot plate' had no candles, so food went cold very quickly. We pointed this out to a waitress, who the struggled to detect any candles. She thought there was a flicker of flame in one hot plate (none of us could see it), but confirmed there weren't any in the other. Her answer?
"Well, the food is already cooked".
Yes, but it's now freezing cold my dear, and this is supposed to be a 'hot plate', and you should really act like you give a damn as opposed to just fob us off and excuse your lazy kitchen staff.

Also the food had loads of fat, so while it arrives looking filling, in reality you can / should only eat about 60% of it, which is fairly rubbish for £20 each.
Not much edible food, and it's cold.


It should not be upto the customer to request things. And if they comment about being unsatisfied with anything, they should go the whole 9 yards to ensure it's resolved. They did not. This is basic customer service stuff, but they're clueless, or literally don't care.

Helpful?
Thank HonestHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Fabulous food. Come especially for the opera nights. But even on a normal night the food, service and atmosphere is fantastic. Love it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelmhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De La Panza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing