We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is better in London”
Review of Clink78

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clink78
Ranked #61 of 862 Specialty Lodging in London
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There is better in London”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

10 min walk from King's Cross, fine. Small room with poor ventilation. Feet can actually touch other's head! Toilets in separate sex but unisex bathroom. Clothes easily get wet as no screen. Have to pay for wifi. Crowded in breakfast time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time to leave us your thoughts.

Regarding your comments:

- We do have female only, male only and unisex toilets and showers in every floor. Next time, ask one of our staff members for the next bathroom of your preference. They will help you find you way to the closer one.

- Free breakfast. Our free breakfast is very popular and therefore you can enjoy it from 7am till 10am. Our recommendation is not leave it till the end as it gets busier in the last half an hour

-WIFI- we offer unlimited wifi use for the whole of your stay for only £3. You can also use your code if you stay with us in the future.

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    766
    500
    209
    192
See reviews for
123
236
617
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place, though a bit of a walk from St. Pancras. Loved the kitchen and Clashbar. Great ambiance.
Internet access has to be bought and is lousy in the rooms.

Downside: The beds are so close together that you'll probably be sleeping with your arms around your neighbor, if not for the plywood partition between the beds :-)

I was in a 4-bed dorm for 4 nights and had a couple for 2 nights as roomies.
They were always sleeping, even when I came in at 7pm. At first they wanted me to to switch off the light and then (we were in a cellar room) when I kept bumping into stuff in the dark trying to pack my luggage (was leaving in the morning) was asked to keep quiet.
Funnily enough, these folks had to get ready at 3AM and leave (God knows where), and shared 1 bed both of the nights.
The other 2 nights were great!

Room Tip: perfect if you are looking for fun in London, or want to store your stuff. Lousy for accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad you overall enjoyed your stay although you didn't enjoy your roomates company much.

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Set in an old Crown Court it is the setting for a very interesting place. The different coloured floors and interior makes it very modern coupled with very helpful staff at the main reception. Would recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for such a positive feedback. it's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us :)

See you very soon,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a great stay rooms where loud and busy but if your going to have a cry about it dont stay at a hostel thats what its about I love the 12 bed dorms u meet alot of people. Another great feature of this hostel is there full kitchen which is handy for the cheap travelers as you can make a full meal in the kitchen. Negative would be the toilets they are very bad and dirtt straight after they are cleaned which is only once a day

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaggmanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to leave us your comments.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed cooking in our great kitchen. it is the perfect place to meet up your roomates and get to know them better.

Regarding the toilets, we have a 24 hours housekeeping team and the toilets are cleaned every few hours. Please, next time, come to reception to let us know :)

Thanks again for your kind words and enjoy the rest of your travels,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Can't beat this place- it is a short walk to the kings cross station (harry potter 9 3/4 anyone?) to take you where ever, lots of cheap eats, british library, and wonderful people to boot. Hostel has bar (for evening fun), lots of bathrooms, internet room, TV room, travel shop and full of artsy cool vibes (the place is unique -old court house and jail cells). If you don't like dorm-room style bathrooms there are not that many options - sharing is caring - bed rooms have private or bunk style options. Breakfast each morning is served (2 types of cereal, watery OJ, toast, honey, tea, instant coffee) nothing to write home about- but its free and that is always good! The travel shop is open for limited hours but sells discounted tickets for public transit and shows - worth checking out. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoSlicePdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi there,

BIG thank you for your nice comments :)

We are happy to hear that you made use of all our communal areas, including the bar and travel Shop!

Enjoy the rest of your travels and come back very soon!

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in London for 3 nights - all at the Clink Hostel. I had done my research before I left so I knew what to expect. The rooms were quite small but everything was clean and tidy and I thought it was a great location. I liked the feel of the place - it had loads of character.
I enjoyed the breakfast downstairs and it coped well with our large group.
A busy hostel in a busy area.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to leave us your thoughts.

We really appreciate your positive comments about the hostel facilities and staff members.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and come back soon!

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at Clink 78 for two nights, great location in Kings Cross with all the the main attractions in London only a short tube ride away. However the rooms are very small and the walls are paper thin, this is a very busy and noisy hostel.
Ok for 1-2 nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arianenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for leaving us a review.

It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

See you soon,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#64 of 862 in London
614 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#32 of 862 in London
1,103 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 862 in London
2,526 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 862 in London
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink78? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78

Property: Clink78
Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 862 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing