We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel that ill return to”
Review of Clink78

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clink78
Ranked #61 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Had the pleasure of a couple of nights stay. A busy hostel at a great location. The beds were the most comfortable hostel bed I have had, the staff do a great job keeping it clean, the clash bar is a great way to end the night and although loud you cant hear it in dorms above. Budget price and breakfast to kick start the day. Next time I visit London it will be the first place I stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrothejedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed in one of the cells, really great night, good position, the staff were fantastic and bathrooms clean, great communal areas, everywhere really clean, plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby, total bargain, comfy, towels provided and lts of local info, try it.

Room Tip: Try a cell, one night only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chesterlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I really liked this hostel. The wi-fi worked, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the place was clean and well run. The hostel is a former Victorian courthouse, and the rooms are done up in a cheeky, understated prison motif. I liked the giant oak-panelled courtroom converted into a TV room. Free breakfast. Good proximity to King's Cross Station. Neighbors were quiet. There was a sign up in the bathroom that mentioned connections between the building, in its days as a working court, and members of the Clash, who were tried there for something or other. While it wasn't the Ritz, this place was great value for money, and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I wanted a private room on the spur of the moment. I ended up with a double on the ground floor (ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Hello Amanda!!!

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave such a lovely review :)

We hope to see you around very soon!

Enjoy your travels!

The Clink78 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here on Saturday, as a last minute trip to London.
The hostel is really easy to find from London King's Cross Station, and walking alone at 10 o'clock at night I got there in about 6 mins (haha)
Upon arrival I was greeted by a friendly woman, who told me I'd booked my room for the wrong night, so it was £29 for the night on the spot in a 6 bed girls dorm.
She also informed me that there was a bar downstairs with a live band playing, which if I had arrived earlier I would have loved to pop down. My stay was just for a decent night's sleep, so I went up to bed.
The room was very warm, even with the window open, and until about 12 you could hear noises outside. Aside from this I slept fine, for a hostel it was pretty standard bed. The room was spotless, couldn't fault the cleanliness at all.
The breakfast was free; Toast, cereal, coffee tea etc. Filled the hole.
The shower was busy, and in a really cold room with cold water... But it was manageable.
I'd love to stay here again if I'm back in the capital, it was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Vjllh,

Thanks for your words!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will love you to come and stay again with us with a bit more of time!

Best regards,

The Clink78 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We were leading a school group of 8 boys and girls.Location 5 minutes from the train from Scotland. Hostel is so interesting for pupils as an old court house, rooms basic , beds squeezed in but we only slept there after long days out in London. Pupils really liked the buzz of many nationalities, the breakfast room (included) and the TV and Internet room, we staff liked the staff and security at the door who were always keen to help. Location was great for taking train (St pancras-Stratford Int) to Olympic park and on last day for collecting luggage (free storage room) and heading back for train home. A great school venue, where pupils get a real flavour of European life and London Buzz.

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuindorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Hello Tuindorp!

Thank you very much for your nice review :)

We really appreciate your feedback!!!

We would love to see you and your group again!

The Clink78 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Its a lovely building and the common room, tv room, bar and computer room - set in a old court house is lovely.

Breakfast simple but plenty of it -toast, nuttella, jams. two types of cereal, tea, coffee, water, two types of fruit juice.

Showers were clean and the laundry room, mobile phone chargers and lots of locker spaces were all useful.

The down side was the rooms, the beds were comfortable, fairly clean and sturdy bunks. However they are squashed together like sardines, room would have being much nicer with six people sleeping in it rather than 10 and even in the luxury room there is just a few hooks and one narrow shelf, not nearly enough room for people to store things, a small bookcase or table would have being really useful as would have being some more hooks.

Staff were very nice and helpful and offered to carry my suitcase up a flight of stairs - very kind.

Location is excellent 5 mins walk from Kingscross tube, bars, food, chemist, museums ect all within walking distance.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Hello Happy20102010!!! :)

Thank you VERY much for your review!!!!

We are happy that you like Clink78 and we would love to see you around again!

Enjoy your travels

The Clink78 team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Clink78 when we first moved to London. We booked in last minute as there was nowhere else in London available.

It is everything you want and also expect in a hostel. Big TV area and big seperate computer room, big kitchen/cooking space and a bar with cheap drinks. It was also one of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in. There always seemed to be someone cleaning!

It is however a Hostel, so expect to be woken up during the night by doors opening and closing. I am quite a light sleeper so this kept me up most nights. That really depends on who your neighbours are though doesn't it?

Would I stay there again? Only if the budget hotels we have stayed at in the past were booked out. But if I was on a budget and needed something fast that was clean, in a good location and with good facilities then yes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Dear Jules,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! :)

Hope to see again around!

Kind regards,
Clink78 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#62 of 948 in London
660 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 948 in London
1,244 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#25 of 948 in London
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#20 of 948 in London
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink78? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 948 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $18 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing