We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bento is of great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eat Tokyo

Eat Tokyo
Ranked #3,322 of 22,374 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
london
Level Contributor
360 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bento is of great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The bento box at this place is pretty reasonable and tasty. We've tried the chicken and salmon teriyaki with tempura bento and ordered an eel & avocado roll. The spider Roll is much tastier than the eel ones as I can't really see the eels on the one that we had. The squid legs are pretty tasty and good miso soup.

The place is very busy but great value for tasty Japanese - highly recommended. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth-Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    72
    10
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great atmosphere and good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This restaurant is in my local area, and only just the other day, I walked past and saw that it was absolutely packed and thought that i must try it. Thank goodness, I did!
We ate there for lunch today, and were not disappointed in the least. The restaurant was full by about 12.45pm (about 12 tables and 10 spots at the bar approx). The menu selection was excellent, with sushi, sashimi, ramen, udon and many other mixed cooked dishes. The bento boxes looked wonderful too (table beside us) and excellent value for money at around £6.50 each!
Today, we had a sushi roll, eel rice, assorted sashimi and yakitori chicken. This was plenty of food for the 2 of us. All washed down well with some house warm sake.
All in all, it cost £45 which is really good compared to other Japanese places we have eaten at in Golders Green and surrounds.
This will certainly be a regular for us!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Birthday Party - thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our party of 5 celebrated a birthday at Golder's Green branch, our local and favourite restaurant. We would like to thank the staff for making our night. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who provided friendly and unobtrusive service throughout. We started with 2 diners then three, four then five, all accommodated without fuss on a very busy Monday evening. We spent about 3.5 hours at our table and never once were made to feel we'd overstayed or were pressured to move on, such is the norm in London. The staff kindly arranged the birthday cake and presented it beautifully at the end of our evening. The food, as usual was delicious, mainly selecting bento boxes of extraordinary value. Highly recommend the plum wine and chicken liver skewers for starters. Looking forward to our next visit. I also recommend for dining alone at the bar area, a great stop off on the way home for me. Only one suggestion - dim the spotlights or add some candles, it was quite hot and I hate spot lights and it's actually more relaxing at the bar area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sushi and Japanese delecacies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The new Hammersmith branch which replaced another great Japanese restaurant has extended the menu to more than the somehow over-rated sushis (which are delicious and fresh). You can now opt for Bentos, Dons, and other Ramen or Udon soups. Service is friendly, menus are varied, food is fresh... Nothing more to add than the fact that if you are after Japanese in that area, you are better off opting for that small shop rather than the branches of the high-street chains. The charm of traditional and artisanal cooking, versus industrial, and the slight premium on the bill remains digestible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CEDRICtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“4 out of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've been here a couple of times now.
i really like the atmosphere, it all feels very cosy while giving you that little bit of theatre all good restaurants have (sit by the sushi bar if you want to see the chefs working away). It's really good value - i'd say between £15 and £20 per person if you want to go for a full on nosh, although the bento boxes (pretty big in themselves) are much cheaper - around £10.
the fish is very fresh and every plate comes out looking like a work of art. The menu is extensive, so even if you don't like fish, you won't struggle to find something you like here.
Service is fine. It's definitely one of the best restaurants in golders green and much better than most other japanese restaurants i've been to in london. Enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Tokyo also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Eat Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing