We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith
Ranked #353 of 928 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend and found this hostel very reasonably priced & in a perfect location.

It is situated opposite Hammersmith station (with a direct line to airport & inner london) and Belushi's bar is located downstairs (reasonably priced food & drinks!)

The only negative things about our stay would be the quality of the showers (not complaining as you can't expect too much unless you're staying in a hotel) and that our room keys continuously stopped working.

All in all- if you're looking for something basic while touring London, this is it!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 289 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in a mixed room for 18 people, maybe that's what cause my visit so bad in this hostel. The room was smelly (what is not St Christopher's fault), but my bed didn't look clean at all. But the worst was the bathroom. For 18 people, is not big enough and it looks like they don't clean at all! The floor was all wet all the time (and the water didn't come from the showers, but from the toilet, so ewww), very smelly, it was pretty disgusting. The breakfast included was very poor also, comparing to other St Christopher's. By 8h30, they didn't put clean cups and plates anymore, and some food wasn't available anymore. The WiFi in the rooms were okay.
On the last day I changed for a room for 8 people (female only), and it was better, but again, the sheets were dirt! It's now worth what you pay. All night until 2am you can hear people cheering on the bar and the hostel is located near a Police Station, so every 5 minutes you hear the buzzling. The hostel don't have lift, so if you carring a heavy luggage, good luck.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a 18 bedroom, unless you're desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It okay if you can get it cheap I wouldn't want to pay more than 10 a night because the one just down the road is way better they have better mattresses where you don't get springs in ur back and they have a "chill out" room away from the bar and better showers. If all you need is a bed and shower its fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here for four nights and thought it was great! I haven't had a bad experience at a St Christopher's yet and hopefully it stays that way.
The staff are great and the food at Belushi's is affordable and yum.
There is no lift here so beware that you may have to carry your luggage up a heap of stairs. Our room was on the very top floor which was a mission and a half but the room was nice and spacious and very quiet. My only other negative would be that there wasn't much ventilation and as it was the middle of summer and averaging 30 degrees during the day, it was very hot - especially in the bathroom. But you just had to deal with it and it's not like you spend very long in the hostel anyway

I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back.
Location is great! Right next to the Hammersmith tube station which will easily take you just about anywhere you need to go in London. There is also a supermarket across the road and several other little shops and bars/food places.

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs or want to be able to connect to the wireless from your room, try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolafoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yes I am over 50. Yes I have traveled around the world, done a lot of camping and stayed in a lot of hostels. A flat, clean bed and a hot clean shower in a handy location will satisfy my basic needs. I don't even particularly care if the toilet/shower is en-suite or not, as long as it's clean and doesn't give me 'athlete's foot' fungus. St Christophers Hammersmith fulfills most of these criteria. We'll have to wait a few days to see about the athlete's foot

But... No I don't like thump-a-thump music till 2 am on weekends. And my knees are old enough that I really don't want to carry my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs. And silly me thought that a twin room might actually include a bed in which two people could sleep side-by-side - my bad.

The bunk beds seriously needed a dose of WD-40 oil, and that wasn't because we were being 'athletic'.

I've spent the afternoon in the public restaurant/bar area doing some computer stuff, and have had to swat 2 cockroaches. EEEWwwww!

All grown-ups and families - go somewhere else.

Room Tip: OK with noise? - 1st floor. OK w/ stairs? - 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Similar thoughts to one of the reviewers below - the bar area is public, which means that those staying can't get seats etc, seems really stupid given that it's a hostel for paying guests and they should get first preference at the bar. The breakfast is also served quite late for a hostel - and I've stayed in quite a few in the UK. It's not a fantastic location, as Hammersmith is difficult to travel to/from on a Sunday morning, and when I asked staff if there were regular transport connections on a Sunday morning (as it was my first time in that part of London), I was told it was every 10 mins for a tube. This was totally false and as a result I had to get a taxi to my connecting train which caused huge expense. I would have thought that the staff would know about these things.

I arrived late in the evening (which I had specified), and the bunk bed I was allocated had no working light beside it which meant I was clambering around in the dark trying not to wake people. Not great. The bathroom had water all over the floor and some of the locks on the toilet doors did not work. Would highly suggest travellers stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirandaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here and overall thought it was pretty good. The staff are really helpful and friendly and the room and bathrooms were kept clean and tidy. The only downside was that there was no ventilation in the bathroom and only one window in our 8 bed dorm. As it was the middle of summer this made it really hot. Overall though it was a great place to stay with the convenience of a tube station right outside making it easy to get everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park
Gallery Hyde Park
#560 of 928 in London
118 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RMA Hostel
#192 of 928 in London
117 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Abercorn House
Abercorn House
#431 of 928 in London
744 reviews
Safestay
#19 of 928 in London
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith

Address: 28 Hammersmith Broadway | Hammersmith, London W6 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 928 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $17 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel in Hammersmith London is in the middle of everything cool in this neighbourhood of international brands, transportation links, shopping malls and amazing nights out. This St Christopher's Inn hostel in London is in easy reach of the London Underground, housed within the grand stone walls of a historic and listed building! Our reception is staffed by backpackers - just like you - and they're all full to the brim with up to date London knowledge. Check in for directions, maps, money saving tips and an introduction to the delights of the London Underground! We also provide individual lockers so that your keepsakes are kept safe. Aside from the Europe headquarters of Coca Cola and Disney, the biggest landmark in Hammersmith has to be St Christopher's Inns Hostel and Belushi's bar! There's nearly a hundred years of history behind this hostel - which survived two world wars and a massive renovation to make it the perfect fit for our international guests today. On our doorstep there is not one, not two but three London Underground lines, an over-ground railway station just up the road and one of the most connected bus stations in London - over the road. A few minutes away on foot, you'll find the Hammersmith Apollo, Lyric Square and Lyric Theatre, the Kings Mall, the Riverside Studios - cinema and theatre, Furnival Gardens, a top notch river walk to Chiswick, the London Wetland Centre, Fulham Football Club, and much more! Our Hammersmith hostel is also super close to Kensington Park Gardens, Harrods and Hyde Park - a short bus or tube ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Inn And Belushi`s-Hammersmith
St Christopher`s Inn & Belushi`s-Hammersmith Hotel London
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing