We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good prefer oxford st”
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #20 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good prefer oxford st”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a very good value hostel but I prefer oxford street yha it has a more homely feel and I really like the staff there. The lift doesnt work properly and breakfast, food and drinks are not cheap although the cocktails are pretty good price. Wifi and internet does not work in kitchen that well which is a bit annoying and staff put fridges at wrong temperature which froze all my food. The reception room is really cool with all the lounges and the bar it has a great feel. It would be good if they had activities for solo travellers like trivia or something its not easy to meet people. Despite some of my peeves this is prettya pretty good hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caito44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks very much for your review. It sounds like you have stayed in a few of our hostels- fantastic stuff.

Sorry to hear about the lift- it has been fully serviced since your stay and is in full working order now.

I will be investigating the WiFi signal with our provider to make sure that is as it should be- we have not had any other feedback about the strength but I will be checking it fully following your feedback- thanks.

Frozen food! one of the best thing about staying in a hostel such as ours is the ability to make use of the well equipped self catering kitchen so the fact that your food was spoiled must have been very annoying- our apologies. We do check the temperature in all 9 fridges twice a day- really sorry this happened to you.

We do have a reception, cafe/bar with a 'great feel' and we are currently reviewing our in house activities to make use of this great social space.

Thanks again for the feedback- much appreciated.

Enjoy your travels,

James Ryan
Hostel Manager
YHA London Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    541
    123
    26
    15
See reviews for
223
32
408
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location as it was near at least two tube stations, a grocery, and the popular tourist attractions! I could walk to the British Museum, Oxford Circus, and even all the way down to the South Bank!

They also had good beds! I stayed in a 4-bed girls only room with a private bathroom and it was a good two-week stay! I'd stay here again given the chance!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank carlalovestea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks very much for your message. Well, it sounds like you made very good use of our fantastic location to visit so many iconic London attractions.

We hope to see you again soon,

Enjoy your travels,

James Ryan
Hostel Manager
YHA London Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

had a great experience at this hostel. the building is very clean and modern and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Amazing value for the location of this place, and the shared ensuite rooms were very comfortable. My roommates were friendly and considerate (although that really has nothing to do with the hostel). Bunk beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for luggage and a locker drawer (bring your own lock, if you want to keep it secure)

wifi access is a bit pricey, but understandable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarita_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for your review. Very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience at the hostel- love that you used the word experience, we hope all of our guests have a fantastic and memorable experience with us!

Appreciate the mention for the team- they are all passionate travelers and really enjoy helping our guests get the best out of their time in this great city.

Enjoy your travels,

James Ryan
Hostel Manager
YHA London Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Love the city but can't really afford central London prices with 2 teens. We tried the central London yha.

The good - LOCATION and PRICE we paid about 100 pounds for a family room 2 bunk beds with en suite micro tiny bathroom. Everything was well designed. Also the general relaxed feel of the place was great.

The bad - shortish beds with large foot boards. If you are over 6 feet tall this will be an issue. Very little ventilation on warm/hot summer days. Yes I said hot summer days - they do infrequently happen in the UK and the hostel isn't well equipped -- windows don't open completely limited fans )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 662TravelingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Ann,

Thanks very much for your review. It sounds like you all had a great stay in the hostel and the sun even came out for you! it does happen more often then people think!

Thanks again for the feedback,

Enjoy your travels,

James Ryan
Hostel Manager
YHA London Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed in 4 bed dorm, great room with lockers for belongings and comfortable, clean beds. Excellent location, only 3-5 minute walk from Oxford Circus Central area and station. You can buy a nice breakfast in the lobby and staff are happy to help with information and tour bookings etc. Some staff friendlier than others. Had to pay for wifi. Overall great stay in a good hostel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Dan,

Thanks for the feedback- always appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location. Always like to hear positive team feedback- though we strive to offer a friendly, personal service across the whole team so your comment about 'some friendlier than others' didn't go unnoticed.

We hope to see you again soon,

Enjoy your travels,

James Ryan
Hostel Manager
YHA London Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here from December 22-26 in 2013. i stayed in a 4 bed room with my 3 friends.
good things: We had our own bathroom and did not have to worry about locking up our things every time we left. Our room was really clean and the staff was nice and helpful. It was the perfect distance from oxford street, so we didnt hear the cars all night but also was nice to be so close to a main road. I loved the location because it was so close to the great Portland tube station! the security was amazing! there was 24 hour front desk and the front doors only opened with a room key at night (like when i was dark so even 8pm). you also needed a key to use the elevators and stairs.

down side- no free wifi, you had to pay and it was only available in the lobby. It also was not very strong wifi and you could only share/ use 2 devices per wifi password

Overall great location, safe, clean and good price!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 250Sam_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Sam,

Thanks for the feedback. Sounds like you and your friends had a great festive time at the hostel- shame it didn't snow on Christmas day! Always great to hear fantastic feedback about our team and also that you found the hostel to be safe, secure and well located.

We hope to see you in the hostel again soon,

Enjoy your travels,

James Ryan
Hostel Manager
YHA London Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just came back from a trip with a friend. The travel agent told us this might be one suitable hostel for us. She couldn't be anymore right. The minute you walk into the facillity you can make yourself feel like home. The people @ The counter always smiling and willing to help. The food is 100% recomendable, the rooms are always clean, big loockers inside to put all your luggage and confortable beds to get a good night sleep (not a 5 star but pretty good, no complains). It count's with a full equiped kitchen and it has plenty of fridges where to save food and supplies. The bathroom is always clean and we didin't had any issue with the water presure or the morning crowd.
The location is perfect, in the middle of a nice, quiet neighborhood just a few block away from the Portland underground station where you can catch either buses, subway or the sightseen tour bus. The BBC tower is nearby and there is this super market just 1 block north from the hostel where you can buy water or any other item.
Food.
You have to try their pizzas, woow they are awesome and of course at that price make it a super deal. Also you can bundle it with 2 beers @ 10 GBP which makes it a lot better.
Some of the people speak french and even spanish (i guess this is just random luck).

It's a good idea to get a membership before arrive, it make things a lot easier. You can get complementary Wi-fi and discounts on the food and beverages.

If you are planning a backpack travel to London, don't search longer, this is a wonderful option to staying at.

I hope this brings light to your search and please feel free to ask for aditional information and of course to vote this as usefull.

Thanks reader and bon voyage.

Room Tip: Any room fits perfectly for the needs of a backpacking trip. There are some at the 3rd floor nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeCuatrocero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Mike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Always really happy to hear great comments about our team :) you are right about the team being multilingual (some of them) we have French, German, Spanish, Polish, Italian & Portuguese speakers. Glad that you enjoyed our famous pizzas they are delicious and great value.

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope that you come back soon,

Enjoy your travels,

James Ryan
Hostel Manager
YHA London Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 843 in London
681 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 843 in London
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#62 of 843 in London
389 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Property: YHA London Central
Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London
YHA London Central England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing