We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unsafe, really dirty, no free WiFi, don't stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #16 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lorena, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unsafe, really dirty, no free WiFi, don't stay!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I had my adapter stolen, my wallet and also, my gloves and scarf! The bathrooms are lousy, water stops coming in the middle of the shower and there is no hot water. Toilets get all wet. Staff is not polite and don't solve your problems. You have to pay (not cheap) to use the internet and it doesn't work well. You have to use special size locks on the lockers, otherwise, it won't be locked! Laundry it's ok and cheap. Is close to a metro station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoniqueMascarenhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello,

We are sorry that you had a negative experience at our hostel, it sounds like quite an unfortunate series of events as we do consistently score very highly in our ratings for customer service, cleanliness and safety.

I can assure you that we are currently working on areas which you have mentioned, starting today we are remodeling each bathroom to ensure that flooding does not occur. We are also in the process of replacing the old locker mechanisms which new models which will mean any sized padlock will work on them.

As we are a membership organisation our WIFI is free for members of YHA/HI and we do give everyone the opportunity to sign up to take advantages of this benefit, plus many others.

We hope that next time you are in London you will come to stay with us again to see the changes we have made, and we thank yo for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    531
    112
    23
    15
See reviews for
217
31
392
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hostel is in a great location, is comfortable (except for the thin pillows - solved if you put a piece of clothing folded up underneath) and has friendly staff. As with all YHA hostels, you have your own locker in the room which is great for security. The only thing is sometimes they make you change rooms because the YHA booking software allocates beds or something and is time-consuming to change around. So on these days you have to check-out and in again and don't have a locker for that day unless you pay extra, which is a bit annoying.

Room Tip: If you're on the first floor you can tune into the wi-fi from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with a friend in December 2013.
Definitely one of the better YHA hostels I've stayed in!
Location is convenient enough for London. Situated between two tube stations (Great Portland Street & Oxford Circus) and only a 5 minute walk down to Oxford Street and a wealth of dangerous shopping!! The area itself is lovely with some awesome cafés and restaurants (Kaffeine for breakfast is highly recommended!)
The staff at the hostel are lovely and helpful and the rooms are clean and adequate. There is an area to borrow books and board games are available too. In the rooms, the lockers aren't big enough to fit a suitcase in but can easily fit under the beds (and if you have forgotten your locks, the reception has some too). There was only one separate bathroom and shower near our room but there was rarely ever an issue of needing to wait for people to take a shower.
Wi-Fi only available in the reception area though but thankfully is free now for YHA members.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

For £15 a night it really is the best option in London if you don't mind sharing with others. Hotel prices in London are ridiculous so this is an absolute gem. Quiet, good location and a friendly bar area and also only a two minute walk to the nearest Tube station (Great Portland Street) so very easy to get around the city. Will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lessines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

A very nice and well located hostel just a few blocks above Oxford Circus.
I had a 6 beds dormitory on the 4th floor, it was quiet and clean.
There are lockers in the room but it needs a padlock (£3 at the desk if needed).
The shower was just outside the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilippeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

During my grandson's and my 30 day Euro/UK tour, this Hostel was one of the best of 5 in which we stayed. Facilities, location and amenities were excellent. As a Hostels International member, I did not pay more for WiFi. Membership was paid for in the first two stays at reduced cost. Staff was very helpful, and booked us a play at reduced cost. Well worth it for this 77 year old!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wy'east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great place, great crowd, great decoration!
A bit expensive, as everything is in London...
Close to underground stations, theaters and so on.
They can book pub crawls, tours, buses to cities nearby.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#61 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Property: YHA London Central
Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London
YHA London Central England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing