We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA London Central
Nearby Hotels
$374
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$287
$274
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$226
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$444
$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$312
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,276 results
Traveler rating
495
591
139
31
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
591
139
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford streetgreat portland streetself catering kitchenbunk bedsyouth hostelbeauty roomfantastic hostelfemale dormno wifi in the roomscommon roomshared roomswipe cardown bathroomsmall shelfluggage roomtop bunkperson room
Filter
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 1,276 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Pre-booked the hostel for a 3-day/night visit to London. Booked a 6-bed female dorm room (with own shower & toilet rooms). The location is quite good, as other reviewers have stated there's a couple tube stations within short walking distance, and some restaurants and cafes around, including chains like Starbucks and Pizza Express; there are also a couple convenience stores near the tube stations for grabbing some light meals/snacks if you're on a budget. The room was clean and each bunk had it's own light, shelf and charging station, along with lockers if you bring a lock with you.
When we arrived we were too early to check in so dropped our bags in the luggage room, which was pretty jammed pack with bags; think some people couldn't find space to leave their luggage.
The hostel does some tours and offered discounted tickets to the Lion King during our stay. They do also have a breakfast bar at Reception and a kitchen in the basement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malkotigarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

5 min walk to Oxford street, lots of nice cafe near by.

Hostel is very clean and tidy. But as with all yha everything is extra, wireless Internet, towels, locks etc. wireless only works in reception/bar area and kitchen.

Front desk staff are very hit and miss and you feel like you are interrupting them when you ask a question.

In a good position close to tube stations and Oxford street shopping. But for price you pay there is sure to be better hostels out there that give you more for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky-Lee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Got a 4-people room with my grandparents and sister for 3/4 days. Great position, only a 5 minute walk from Oxford Street. Nothing bad to say about the room, it wasn't noisy, we slept well (maybe also because we were on one of the highest floors) - the only thing was the lack of any table or chair and the fact that the water from the shower fell directly on the floor, consequently partially flooding the room when someone would shower and the awful smell that came from the drain. We had to keep the door and window open to get rid of the smell, but even that didn't work. The sink was also tiny. The wi-fi maybe a bit expensive. If it wasn't for the inconvenience of the shower, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babooshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great hostel, awesome location, walking distance to Oxford street and really close to the tube. In a quiet street as well. My dorm was clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful, not that I needed much. All in all a great stay.
Showers in the ensuited dorms are really dodgy though! Can flood the rooms if not careful. That's the only downfall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatLMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hostel is situated downtown London and it is extremely well priced considering its location. The staff was quite helpful and despite the fact that we had a little issue with our booking, they were helpful enough to help us solve it. Otherwise, well, it is a hostel. Dorms of 4, 8 and 16 people, I believe, are available. 2 bathrooms and 2 showers on each floor, very basic. The rooms have some smell here and there, but I mean, when you have over 4 people in such a small room, it makes sense for the room to smell like something. The quality of sleep is obviously pretty bad, but it's a hostel, so you can't expect much. The WiFi access is free only to the members of YHA (which is a good deal if you consider to stay in the YHA hostels in the future), and is available only on the ground and basement floors, which is a bit of a downer. The lobby and the lounge are quite nice. 4 computers are available for public use for a certain fee, of course. The food and the beer is served until 23h and it's actually not that bad, if you're just too exhausted to go anywhere else. The lockers are provided for a 24-hour period for a certain fee, as well as the laundry services.
I'm a somewhat of a comfort addict when I go on vacation, so not sure whether I would stay there again, but for the regular hostel travelers, this is a very good deal and I would definitely suggest it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6shot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews