We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very clean and comfortable hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #17 of 802 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was very happy with my stay in this hostel. We stayed here for 2 nights while passing through London. The rooms were very clean and quite comfortable, as were the bathrooms, the location was very central (as the name describes) and the common room/reception area/ cafe place was comfortable, it felt a bit like a cafe but with lots of tired-looking people in it :) you need to bring your own padlock for the lockers but they have them for sale at reception for very cheap. Close to 2 tube stations and in a nice area. You have to pay to use the wifi. And there are lockers to store your luggage if you arrive early or leave late, which cost a small sum as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    511
    104
    23
    15
See reviews for
203
31
367
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

we stayed in a 4 females room only with a private bathroom for 3 nights.
The room is very clean, and the hostel is near 2 subway stations.
The bed is comfortable and clean also.
But next time i will not choose 2 ppl room, cause the plug is not in the bathroom, u can't dry ur hair after other fall asleep.
The counters are nice they provide all services.
They even have a ATM machine inside.
But the internet is not free, and the kitchen sucks.
They should really invest some money there not just care about the lobby.
They also sell breakfast in the moring, it costs around 4 pounds.
very good deal with cereals, milk, fruits, tea, bread.
recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palace1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here while in transit through London and had a great time. My intent was to use it as a base to explore the city and to have a bed to sleep in at night.

In terms of security, They have a luggage storage area where you can leave your bag in case you arrive early, this is a shared area but they also have lockers in the storage room which you can use for a fee. The rooms themselves have cabinets that can easily fit a 21" carry-on bag (with lots of room to spare, the cabinets have have a place you can put a padlock to keep your bag secure. The room area also requires keycard access, I had to use my card once to get to the room area, and then again on my room door.

The staff at the front also gave me a free SIM card, and map of the city. Two things that were invaluable during my trip.

The hostel is in a good location, a 5-7 minute walk to Oxford Circus. This was an excellent base for me to explore the major tourist areas in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for the olympics and it was everything we needed, a nice quiet clean room. The bathrooms and showers were immaculate and the location could not have got any better for central london. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Downsides are that the place doesn't really have a vibe as can be common with some yha's. Although the kitchen was well equiped it was missing a key ingedient of an oven which was strange. However as i mentioned above you are in the middle of the city with every possible type of food outlet on your doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the London Central for 4 nights on my first ever visit to London.
Staff were really friendly and helpful. The location is spectacular, only a few minutes walking to the Tube (Great Portland Street or Oxford Circus).
I paid £19/ night in a dorm. The bed in the dorm was comfortable and clean. Bathrooms were ok. There is a beauty room where you can use hairdryers and curling irons.
Reception and dining area are very comfortable to hang out in.
The only downside is that wifi only works on floors G and -1. Also you have to pay for it.
All in all it was a very enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chillgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A good thing about this hostel is that there is a bathroom for each shared room.
It's a good location, near China town, so plenty of choice for eating. Seemed pretty quiet, which is also a bonus. Very clean. Good value. Wifi is extra, and apparently doesn't extend beyond the first floor, or down to the kitchen/dining room in the basement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TariqAbdulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This is my third time in a row staying in this hostel.
Perfect as always. Bright and clean. Nice friendly staffs. Brilliant position. Very convenient no matter you wanna go west or east.

Choosing where i wanna stay when i visit London is such a no-brainer for me. YHA London Central will always be on the top of the short list.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Property: YHA London Central
Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 802 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London
YHA London Central England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing