We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant but relaxed and cool”
Review of Roux at The Landau

Roux at The Landau
Ranked #98 of 22,857 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $131
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Transit: Underground: Oxford Circus
Description: Father and son Albert and Michel Roux Jr are working together for the first time in over 20 years. This partnership brings Roux's legendary culinary expertise and creativity Roux at The Landau, their second West End address. Roux at The Landau entices with classically constructed dishes offering French cuisine with a British twist. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and the only Sunday brunch by Chez Roux. The restaurant's private dining room Postillion can accommodate up to 18 people.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Elegant but relaxed and cool”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had the Chef's Menu with wine pairing and it was truly a GOURMET Experience.! The quality of food and the choice of wines were really fantastic! The staff were all very nice, polite and always willing to make you as a guest happy! We had a guest with us (an older Lady) that had special food requirements and the kitchen adapted immediately to this request without any discussion. She felt like a Princess at the end of the evening! We were also impressed with ANDREA, the Asst. Sommelier. He really took the time to explain the wine selection to us..it was great.. The restaurant is of course elegant but the atmosphere is very relaxed and cool. Lots of corporate clients it seems. Prices are high but that is the price you have to pay in London now a days for high quality food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerlinTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,164
    331
    134
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Typical gourmet food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The restaurant is on the side of the Langham Hotel, opposite the BBC studios, and has its own entrance onto the Portland Place.

For the class of the venue we were rather surprised as to how cramped it was. Try to request seats away from the circular sofa arrangement or you’ll be listening to conversations right next to you. The room could also do with a bit more ambient lighting.

As one expects from the gourmet restaurant the food is delicious, try white pudding for the starter or delicate veal for the mains. The fillers – selection of breads – are superb too.

There was a typically excellent selection of wines.

The service personnel, mainly from Italy, are very friendly and attentive and happy to enhance your evening with a few anecdotes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fabulous Table, the best Dover Sole I have ever had. Waiters, Sommelier and Manager all professional and charming. We will go back for my wife's birthday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geniusJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Special dinner for a "Big Birthday"”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Like at least one other reviewer this was a 2nd choice restaurant after my daughter had been unable to book at Le Gavroche. We arrived early as coming in by train from Hemel Hempstead we didn't want to be late. Staff were wonderful offering the option of going to the bar or direct to our table. The atmosphere was delightful with Service as good as I have come accross anywhere. This was a family outing for my birthday with my husband, son & daughter & I couldn't have wished for a better evening. I had the prawns to start while the other 3 had the scallops all all of us marvelled at the flavours. We all had different main courses & desserts & they were all delicious. I would definitely like to go back again espcially to perhaps try their lunch menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You cant be Too rich Too thin or Too mean”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Saturday night, sat by window, lovely room, and all staff were charming attentive friendly, but professional.
Had the Sample Du Jour. starter Chicken liver and pistatio terrine/pate was outstanding.
Half carafe of white and red wine each very good.
Main course rib of beef with WHAT PASTA?, for me it doesn't work, Mr R it wouldn't go a miss by placing a few potatoes and a little veg on side, I think its a bit mean and doesn't question your expertise or creativity( but beef superb).
desert three scoops of ice cream nice, and chocolate cake, very nice....two more glasses of wine....with 12,5% service bill was £129.00 she is happy job done....will I return yes....




Special features:special occasions,brunch,Sunday lunch,afternoon tea


I would recommend this to a friend

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sevendials7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roux at The Landau also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Roux at The Landau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing