We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roux at The Landau

Roux at The Landau
Ranked #100 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $128
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Transit: Underground: Oxford Circus
Description: Father and son Albert and Michel Roux Jr are working together for the first time in over 20 years. This partnership brings Roux's legendary culinary expertise and creativity Roux at The Landau, their second West End address. Roux at The Landau entices with classically constructed dishes offering French cuisine with a British twist. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and the only Sunday brunch by Chez Roux. The restaurant's private dining room Postillion can accommodate up to 18 people.
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

There was nothing to dislike if you like fine dining the food, wine and atmosphere was matched by the friendly staff who served.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    316
    130
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top of the Top Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went for dinner on the evening of the 10 June 2013 with my wife. Started with Pea Soup that was heavenly followed by chicken dish cooked to perfection and wonderful ice cream and sorbet dessert accompanied by glass of champagne. Ended meal with coffee and fabulous petit fours - the petit fours just melted in your mouth. The chef is truly talented, the ambience of the restaurant is elegant, beautiful and comfortable and the service truly excellent. I also have to say that the cost of this excellent dining experience was great value and look forward to dining many times again at this truly great restaurant. Really loved it and cannot rate it too highly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My fiance took me for my suprise birthday lunch and it was one of the most memorable dining experiences I ever had.
The service is attentive and very friendly, without the frostiness which often prevails at high end restaurants. The decor very modern and unusual with some of the most beautiful flowers I have seen in a restaurant. Finally, the food was wonderful as one would expect and my minute steak was the best I ever had (not the mention the most geometrically precise given its perfect rectangular shape).
This restaurant is a must try and I am looking forward to my return visit very much.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purple_grape25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited Wednesday lunch for the Tasting menu paired with wines (£100pp). Five courses, five wines, nouvelle cuisine portions. A Great way of finding the abilities of a Kitchen as well as those of the Sommellier. The presentation and taste of all five courses was superb, but the choices of the five wines (remembering the budget) was exemplary. Service was attentive without being in your face. All round 9 /10. Suggest having pre-dinner drinks at The Artesian Cocktail Bar.
Will visit again (many times).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raphael_non
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In a word... "Perfect!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Recently celebrated my birthday at Roux. Due to the size of the party, upon arranging the booking, I was offered the use of their private dining room "Postillion". I was also invited to choose my own menu for the event.

The restaurant and the private room are simply stunning. The service is par excellence and food; quite simply some of the best I have ever had the pleasure of eating.

This is food ascended to art accompanied by service taken to the pinnacle of professionalism; amazing to watch and a pleasure to receive.

It is not cheap, but for the experience it is money well worth spending for an incredible evening that is still being talked about long after.

I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roux at The Landau also viewed

 

Been to Roux at The Landau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing