We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined, excellent food and great service”
Review of Roux at The Landau

Roux at The Landau
Ranked #99 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $127
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Transit: Underground: Oxford Circus
Description: Father and son Albert and Michel Roux Jr are working together for the first time in over 20 years. This partnership brings Roux's legendary culinary expertise and creativity Roux at The Landau, their second West End address. Roux at The Landau entices with classically constructed dishes offering French cuisine with a British twist. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and the only Sunday brunch by Chez Roux. The restaurant's private dining room Postillion can accommodate up to 18 people.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Refined, excellent food and great service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A day watching England cream New Zealand at Twickenham was rounded off with an excellent dinner. We all had the tasting menu along with the wine. It was expensive but we were celebrating and took away many happy memories. Service was great, attentive but not in your face. I hope to return soon.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentFoodandDrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,148
    324
    133
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing second time round”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Roux at the Landau for a birthday celebration in Jan 2013 after a trip there a few months ago. Starters were delicious - chestnut soup was gorgeous and my hubby had the mackerel. I had the cavatelli (veggie option) and hubby the salmon. My main was extremely stodgy (think gnocchi) and bland and his salmon was delicious. Dessert was good all round. Staff seemed frantic when it appeared unnecessary rushing around and therefore creating a tense atmosphere. I think that was the worst part of the dining experience - being constantly aware of staff rushing around. Calm them down!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VHarryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SUPERB cuisine in an equally superb setting!...First Class! Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having eaten here on several occasions, both for lunch and dinner, I always wax lyrical about Roux at the Landau on all levels!.The menus are imaginative, beautifully prepared, superbly presented and served with great pride and professionalism!...The staff are attentive but not intrusive, exact but not pretentious, informed but not overbearing...Infact, everything you could wish for in a restaurant of this calibre...Each time I have eaten here, I have felt that the whole experience has been most memorable...Food, service, ambience...All first class!...If you enjoy fabulous food and fine wine then I'm sure you'll find the Roux at The Landau a perfect choice! It is at the VERY top of my list of "London's Best Eating Experiences"...Do yourself a favour and make a reservation next time you are in the Capital...I'm certain you won't be disappointed! Can't wait to return again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I must admit to not having high expectations when I went - it was just convenient when staying in the hotel. However the food was excellent: thoughtful well-composed dishes with a real depth of flavour. Not cheap, but for this quality of cooking a bargain.
Room itself was lovely with professional service. Only downside was the room was a bit too empty for any genuine atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with my husband and parents as a birthday dinner. We all thoroughly enjoyed our food choices and we were ably assisted by the lovely maitre'd and the very capable sommelier and staff. A fantastic meal and we would all be delighted to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roux at The Landau also viewed

 

Been to Roux at The Landau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing