We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekday lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roux at The Landau

Roux at The Landau
Ranked #100 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $125
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Transit: Underground: Oxford Circus
Description: Father and son Albert and Michel Roux Jr are working together for the first time in over 20 years. This partnership brings Roux's legendary culinary expertise and creativity Roux at The Landau, their second West End address. Roux at The Landau entices with classically constructed dishes offering French cuisine with a British twist. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and the only Sunday brunch by Chez Roux. The restaurant's private dining room Postillion can accommodate up to 18 people.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weekday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went for a weekday lunch, treating my friend for his birthday. We ordered the Tasting Menu at £80 each, and a bottle of wine which was reasonable at £34. (There was a set menu for £35 including a glass of wine available, as well as a la carte). We were welcomed by friendly, helpful staff, and the service throughout was very good, without being over-attentive. The Sommelier, Andrea, was particularly good.
The food was excellent, and beautifully presented. Five or six courses were well-spaced, and we were asked if we needed more time before the savoury course. The room was fairly full, and the atmosphere, although a little staid, very pleasant in the wood-panelled large room.
We had a very relaxed, happy lunch. Yes, it is expensive, but for a special occasion, just the thing. We recently ate at Le Manoir aux Quatre Saisons and the food/prices were comparable, even though Roux at the Landau doesn't have a Michelin star.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TaniaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,095
    308
    129
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Stephen
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Late meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fabulous food, fabulous staff, fabulous evening! We booked a deal which meant eating at 10pm but this wasnt a problem, £35 for 3 courses & a glass of champagne, worth every penny! Would recommend & visit again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a pleasure I cannot wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a delight this evening meal was. The welcome and service was second to none and I expected a more aloof service how pleasant to find that we were treated so well. The dining room was classic and stylish..

The cream of course was the quality of food and the educated experience offered alongside the service showing such passion from the team of staff. All three courses could not be faulted and the wine was perfectly matched.

The presentation of food made it all the more mouth watering and then biting into it did not fail to impress with taste.

At last a restaurant to complete with my favourite - Aubergine in Cape Town

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

my wife took me for by birthday treat as have been a long admiror of "the rouxs"

the place was rammed, must have done about 3 sittings I reckon. they were doing a toptable deal which had everyone in.

the good - we had the tasting menu which was really nice. the wine list (or should I say book) is huge and there are some reasonably priced wines on there

the bad - because it was so busy the service was not great. especially for a 5 star hotel restaurant. there is only 1 somelier for the whole restaurant so if you are not ready when he comes to take your drink order then you have to wait another 20 mins to order drinks!

after being seated at 8.45 by 9.15 we still hadnt been served a drink. that is pretty poor by anyones standards.

overall it was good. Probably wouldnt go back though, there are better restaurants out there

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Finding ourselves obliged to travel up to London for a noon appointment which would last less than twenty minutes, our first thought was to make the most of the visit by having a decent lunch. We checked the web for somewhere within walking distance of our appointment venue, and hit on Roux at the Landau, at the Langford Hotel. Spot on – a 1pm booking was made, and anticipation began.

Yesterday was the day, and we arrived to find everything just as we might have hoped. We were shown to a superb curved banquette table facing the windows, with a wonderful view of All Souls Church and the endemic traffic jams of London tourist sightseeing buses in the drizzle; we were brought some water (without any attempt to push bottled designer water at us), some complimentary canapés, and the menus. Since this was lunchtime, we discarded the tasting menu; gave consideration to the menu du jour at £35 for three courses, and studied the à la carte. I decided I wanted the salmon from the menu du jour without having the full three courses which it entailed, and this did not faze them. My husband ordered the venison. We were brought a selection of delicious brown and white breads, and butter with the fashionable sprinkling of coarse-ground salt beside it on its platter, and the sommelier took our order for a cracking half-bottle of Pouilly-Fuissé.

Service was perfectly timed; there was no rush, but equally one didn't become impatient with waiting. Both wine and water were topped up when necessary, but thankfully not after every mouthful. The staff (and there must have been half-a-dozen who dealt with our table over the course of the meal) were uniformly professional, pleasant and friendly without being in any way intrusive. In fact I would score the service at around 12 out of 10!

The food was, quite, simply, delicious. Words can't do justice. The only thing lacking for a Michelin star might, I guess, be a bit more inventiveness; but then, we didn't study the tasting menu, which is where one would expect chef's top talents to be displayed. And one doesn't always want inventiveness; one wants top-notch ingredients, perfectly cooked, resulting in a combination of flavours which blends and explodes in the mouth in such a way that you cannot imagine how it could be improved.

Although we had only intended to eat a main course, we were both tempted by dessert. My chocolate mille-feuille justifiably has its photo on the restaurant's web site, and is just as beautiful in reality; a blend of textures and flavours which kept me enthralled and silent until it was gone. A hair-thin but rigid length of spun sugar is the sort of detail which is tricky to make, awkward to keep in good condition until it is time to garnish the plate, and probably not even consciously noticed by many a diner; but this sort of thing really does show that the pastry-chef cares! My husband's ice-creams - the best vanilla he has ever had (with even more vanilla seeds than the one I make) and a rum-and-raisin clearly made with an excellent rum - were exactly to his taste. The sommelier had offered us a dessert wine, but did not push when we turned down the idea, on the grounds that it was only lunchtime.

Although we didn't have coffee, we were nevertheless brought complimentary petits-fours along with the bill. A service charge of 12.5% is added (as is made clear on the menus) but there are no other supplements; no cover charge, no unexpected charge for the bread, the way some lesser restaurants try to boost their takings.

We were slightly startled at the total on the bill, however, but not enough to demur over payment, or to shake our resolve of returning the very next time we are in London. When we got home, we discovered that the bill did in fact include three glasses of champagne which were nothing to do with us. Now, mistakes can happen anywhere; what matters is not that a mistake has been made, it is how it is dealt with. A phone call to the restaurant resulted in the error being admitted, apologised for and refunded to our credit card, promptly and courteously. You can't ask for more than that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roux at The Landau also viewed

 

Been to Roux at The Landau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing