We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Bligh House
Ranked #1 of 574 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I found this place on tripadvisor and will now share my own story.
Location is excellent. Five minutes from the Tube, groceries, laundrette, busses to take you anywhere, and the loveliest hosts in London.
Gayna and Simon met us at the door as old friends. My niece and I stayed in the London Apartment and enjoyed every bit of it. The sun streams in the living room windows facing South, and the bedroom window overlooks a small courtyard and other apartments (no street noise). At night, you can hear Big Ben chime.

Overall, an unforgettable experience, and one I will revisit on my next trip to London.
Thank you Gayna and Simon for making my niece's first trip to London a wonderful one! We'll be back!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JabbasaurusRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
129
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We enjoyed our week at the Captain Bligh House. It's conveniently located (buses & underground close by; walking distance to Big Ben, Westminster, London Eye, etc. if you're a walker; small grocery store quite close), and the rooms had everything we needed. The proprietors put a lot of care into the decor and the small conveniences (London guide books, small collection of London-themed DVDs, small kitchens with all the necessary tools). I can quibble about small things (we're not fond of Muesli, my kids were suspicious of their bathroom), but the accommodations were exactly as described on the web site, and we found them to be very nice. There were six in our party (4 adults, 2 children), and we took up three of the rooms. We loved being able to be close to each other without being all over each other, especially while we adjusted from jet lag at different speeds!

Age-wise, I think my children (8 & 11) were just old enough to stay here. Worked great for us now, but it may not have been as good a fit when they were, say, 4 & 7.

Note: the Imperial War Museum across the way is currently closed, as is the Embankment underground stop for the nearby line. Both should be open again before the end of 2014, at which point this location is even more convenient :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My first time in London was blessed with great weather and this award winning bed and breakfast was absolutely divine! I stayed in the film studio. It was just little ole me in this room big enough for two surrounded by Audrey Hepburn and other still images of Film history. The film theme permeated the whole apartment to great effect with lovely details and finishing touches reflecting the care of the lady and lord of the house, who were the loveliest people and very helpful in making my stay most welcome, complete with a working knowledge of London and how to get around! The location was also a short walk to basically everywhere important for a traveller. All in all a little gem that I would love to return to....one day, Thank you! :-)
Stephen
Melbourne
Australia.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is our 5th visit to Captain Bligh House and have had the privilege of staying in every single apartment. This time, The Royal Apartment completed the collection.

Living room, kitchenette and a fridge prefilled with goodies overlooking a lovely park close to the Imperial War museum were all just lovely, cosy and clean and very comfortable. This is simply the only place in London I would consider staying in

Bravo Simon and Gayna and where else would guests get a cuddle on arrival and departure !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank citybreakjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My 14-year-old daughter and I stayed at Captain Bligh House in the "London Apartment" from March 8-14, 2014. We could not have had a better stay. Our rooms consisted of a bedroom, bathroom, and a combination living room/kitchen. The decor was so thoughtfully done down to the last detail. It was adorable. We immediately felt at home. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. Gayna and Simon have thought of everything. There was nothing we needed while there that was not provided. We were greeted by Gayna when we arrived and given the keys and shown how everything works. She gave us a very warm welcome. They had prepared a booklet that contained information about bus routes, local stores and businesses, and other information that you may need while there. Transportation was very accessible. There are several bus routes that you can get right outside the door that will take you wherever you need to go, and there is the Lambeth North tube station a short walk down the road. The area was clean and safe. We would stay here again without hesitation!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jkshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had never stayed at a B & B before which we were bit apprehensive about, however our stay was absolutely fantastic the owners were SO helpful in telling us bus routes places to go/see and just all round nice people! All the rooms were different themed we stayed in the "Breakfast at Tiffanys room" which had a view of the london eye! We were about 15 mins walk away from the london eye and everything was in close proximity and buses came so frequently! Lovely neighbourhood and made our holiday most enjoyable we loved London and would stay again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belnsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

After many years of attending conferences in different parts of the world, I have had wide ranging experiences with hotels of different types. We know for instance that hotels in Asia tend to be much bigger than similarly priced hotels in Europe. We have also tried B and B's in Asia and Europe but Captain Bligh Hotel turned out to be refreshingly unique in so many ways. For one, Gayna and Simon were extremely warm and exceptionally caring. While they left us alone, they responded immediately to our needs when we rang the bell or when we emailed them. The rooms were spacious, with a fully equipped kitchen, living cum dining room. Decorated differently, they were nevertheless cozy and remarkably comfortable. The House is near supermarkets which makes it convenient for travellers who prefer to cook. Capt. Bligh House is strongly recommended for travellers who are in search for a reasonably priced home away from home with the added advantage of being a historic place.

Room Tip: Each room in unique. We stayed at the Crow's Nest and Royal House. The latter has big windows wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Bligh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Bligh House

Property: Captain Bligh House
Address: 100 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 574 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Bligh House is situated within the wonderfully vibrant South Bank area with its exciting restaurants, theatres and street entertainers. A 10 minute walk to the London Eye, 20 minutes to Covent Garden or, with our excellent transport facilities, only an 8 minute bus ride to Piccadilly and London’s famous West End Theatres. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Bligh House Hotel London
Captain Bligh House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing