We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but don't use the pull out beds!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #416 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 6, 2014

When we arrived around 12pm the reception staff were lovely. We knew we couldn't check in until 2:30 but they were happy to hold our bags and treated us very well. The hotel is in a fantastic position, right by the Southwark tube station but we decide to go for a stroll and 10 minutes later found ourselves by the Thames and had some lunch at a lovely pub.

We went back to check in at 2:30pm and went to nose around the room (419). There was a locked door which needed a room key to get into the room corridors which made us feel very secure. The room was basic (which was expected for £68) but were very clean. The ONLY issue with the cleanliness of the room was the small amount of mould on the wall and curtain by the window. It didn't smell or anything but didn't look great.

There were 3 of us so we'd booked a family room and found that we had a double bed and two pull out beds. Being completely honest..... it would have been more comfy to sleep out on the pavement. The pull out beds are extremely hard and when you tap them they make a loud hollow metal noise. I woke up with a bad back and my friend didn't sleep a wink all night. With this being said, our friend that slept in the double bed said it was lovely and slept like a baby!

On check out we told reception of our terrible night (well the two of us anyway) and they gave us 3 free breakfasts to make up for it which was fantastic and made all the difference.

All in all its a fantastic clean hotel in an amazing location and I would definitely return (but never again with the pull out beds)

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with pull out beds, they're very hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here last month and couldn't fault it at all. It was clean, comfortable and seemed to be pretty new. Had a very good nights sleep even though it was a Saturday night so it could have potentially been noisy. Very good value and a good location too being only a few minutes walk from Southwark tube station (on the jubilee line). There was also a shop right next you the hotel.

An added bonus was that we could leave our luggage and shopping in a storage room both before we checked in and after we checked out. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We would normally stay closer to the station but we needed a cheap weekend and this Travelodge was the best value for money the weekend we were visiting. It was a 45 minute journey from Kings Cross (total time from getting off train to arriving at hotel) which was a bit of a pain but it's very close to the tube station. The place was much bigger than I'd anticipated and seemed to be pretty busy but was very quiet at night and we weren't disturbed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingscoobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Brilliant location very near to the tube station and most impressive was the lack of noise at night time! The quietest night I've ever had in a London hotel- we were on the 7th floor. didn't use the bar area for drinks or food so cant comment. Would definatley stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank drewste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, Family Room.

Staff were excellent and very helpful.

Location fantastic as Southwark Tube Station less than five minutes walk. And the gentlemen
at the ticket desk at Southwark Tube Station was extremely helpful.

Very tidy, clean rooms, beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast in the mornings extremely
good.

Convenience store just underneath the Travelodge. But less than a five minute walk away you have a Sainsburys.

Would come back here again when visiting London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

great location, very close to southwark tube, arrived saturday afternoon, great welcome on reception, room on 7th floor was spotless and bed very comfortable, would definately use again going to london for the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank robb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Having just got back this morning from staying at this hotel I decided to write a review. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly however we were a bit miffed to find that as we had arrived early we would have to pay an extra £10 to check in early, we decided not to do this and left our bags with the hotel staff free of charge. When we did check in we were happy to see we were given I nice size room. Although basic it did the Job perfectly. Comfortable bed, with en-suite bathroom. All extremely clean.our room looked onto a train line but we could barely hear a thing when the trains did go by. Good value for money although the breakfast was a little flavourless. All in all a nice stay, would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and cheerful few nights.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank RachelC1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#267 of 1,078 in London
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#448 of 1,078 in London
2,705 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $78 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing